Sweet and Tangy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I love this recipe. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Love this recipe! Has become a family favorite for the holidays. The first time I made these, the kids complained because of the vinegar smell while cooking. But once they tasted them, they said they were the best green beans they ever had. Now they ask for them every holiday meal! I cook a little more bacon then the recipe calls for. With men in the house, you can NEVER have too much bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
My family really enjoyed this. None was left and with green beans that does not happen much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I have made this recipe for years as "German Green Beans". It is a favorite. Since I use 3 cans of cut or whole green beans, I can see why others found this recipe too fatty or too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Tasty easy to make dish. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Too much fat. I added more bacon but only used 3 T. bacon grease and canned cut green beans and kept basting them until they were glazed. Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was pretty good. Reminds me of the wilted spinch salad my mom use to make. I used sucralose instead of sugar, red wine vinager, and canned green beans. Lots less carbs that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I enjoy this recipe. I did cut back on the sugar & vinegar somewhat. I enjoy the flavor of using cider vinegar. Introduced to me many,many years ago by my former mother-in-law using canned french green bean. Still make this that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kim c
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Instead of frozen I went with the fresh green beans washed and trimmed in the bag. I used white wine vinegar instead of just plain white. I followed the other reviews who said there was too much vinegar and sugar, so I cut the vinegar to a 1/4 cup and sugar to 3 tbs. I also drained off some of the bacon grease to make it less fatty. Because the green beans were fresh and the reduced amount of liquid I steamed the green beans prior per the package instructions (4 -5 min). I rinsed the beans in cold water to keep them from cooking further. I then picked up where you add the green beans in the recipe and simmered for the 20 min. The green beans are perfectly cooked. They were tender but not mushy. A nice recipe when wanting something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States