Sweet and Tangy BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Used this as my "bottled suace" for "Grant's midnight grill sauce". Didn't add sugars... Saute'd onion in canola spray, rather than butter... Amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
REALLY GOOD SAUCE! I did use cider instead of juice because it's all I had!I didn't change anything else and this sauce was great, everyone wanted the "secret" recipe sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Very good sauce. Sweet when you first taste it and then it kicks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Great to keep in the fridge for summer grilling. This is especially good on ribs that are wrapped in foil and baked slowly with chili pepper(2-2 1/2 hrs at 300).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
YUM! I like my BBQ sweet so this sauce was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Used this in place of bottled sauce in Freak'n Good Ribs. Everyone just devoured them. Not too hot, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This recipe was excellent. I used it on boneless/skinless chicken breasts and cooked on the grill. I had to make some adjustments to the recipe because I did not have some of the ingredients. I doubled the apple juice because I did not have cider vinegar and I doubled the honey because I did not have molasses. I also did not have chili powder so I added a couple dashes of hot sauce. The sauce is definitely sweet, but has a nice spicy kick to it! Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: East Greenbush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This recipe is very good, but with BBQ sauce there is always room for improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Nyquist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Fessenden, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This is definitely the best Allrecipes BBQ sauce I've tried - and there are some excellent ones on this site! As a previous reviewer suggested, I double the apple juice and omit the water. I also use fresh garlic. Pour this sauce over chicken legs and cook on "low" in the slow cooker for 8 hours for the best BBQ chicken ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This is an excellent recipe! I used it on pork, turkey,chicken and it was great! My wife did not like the tang so I made a batch and left out the pepper. Tastes better than any jar bbq sauce I have purchased. I enter bbq contests and this will definately be the sauce I use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States