Sweet and Tangy BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Very good sauce. I didn't have cayenne on hand because my family doesn't care for very spicy things, but it tasted just fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heff76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gregory, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and found it to be too acidic. Way too much vinegar. If I ever make it again, I would cut the vinegar in half. Maybe with less vinegar and a longer simmer time, it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ml

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This recipe assures I will never use jarred sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j9hurley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I mixed the ingredients together mostly according to the recipe. I didn't have a small onion so I used a teaspoon of onion powder. I didn't have dry mustard either so I used a squirt of regular mustard. And i used white vinegar instead of cider vinegar. After adding the cayenne pepper, it was REALLY spicy so (at the request of my 7 year old) I added some more honey and threw in a couple of tablespoons of teriakyi sauce. I put it all in my crockpot and cooked it for a few hours with some low-end pork chops. They were so tender and tasted AMAZING! the whole family was thrilled. Then I left the rest of the porkchops in the crock pot over night on low heat and by this morning we had a fantastic tasting VERY SPICY brisket!! DELICIOUS!! I will definitely use this recipe again and again! I'm so glad I dared to use an online recipe for BBQ sauce. This is better than store bought and right up there with restaurants like Smokey bones. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celestialmegan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Putnam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
amazing. I use this all the time, and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I don't know about this one. Tried it, followed the directions exactly as they are. I found the taste odd and the sauce was very acidic. When I first read the recipe, I was wondering about the acidity level when you see things like 2 cups of ketchup (which has a lot of vinegar in it), 1/2 cup vinegar, and then 1/4 cup apple juice - all these are acidic! Might be better if the ketchup was changed for tomato paste and crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I've never had much luck with BBQ sauce, and I've tried maybe 20 different recipes. This was easy to make and the flavor and consistency was excellent. I added some hot sauce to it. That was my only modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Great sauce, I used it on pulled pork and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very tasty indeed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

A Very Popular BBQ Sauce

This homemade BBQ sauce is a little bit sweet, a little bit spicy, and a whole lo

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States