Sweet and Tangy BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
This is our new barbeque sauce. I've been trying to find the perfect bbq sauce for over a year, and this is it. I made a couple of small changes, added an extra 2 T of Worchestshire sauce, added 1 tsp of liquid smoke flavoring, and increased cayenne powder to 1 1/4 tsp. Also added three minced garlic cloves to the onions at the beginning, in addition to using the garlic powder. This was sweet, tangy, spicy, complex. I'm getting ready to make a big batch and freeze it to have on hand. Thank you for this recipe. We'll enjoy it for years to cme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Flynn-Fleet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Definitely the best BBQ sauce I have ever made. I didn't change a thing, but I omitted the cayenne pepper. I will make this again soon. Awsome with ribs and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjorie Kirsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Very easy and quick to make. Only adjustments I made were the omission of the cayenne pepper and the addition of more brown sugar (a LOT more as my family likes things sweet). Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is the only BBQ sauce we use now. I don't change a thing in the recipe. I make it in triple batches and we use it on everything that requires BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This is an excellent recipe to modify to suit your own personal tastes. The biggest change I do is I boil the onion in red wine and puree the onions. I also add much more sweet (mostly molasses) to it and a few drops of liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Shurlow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe but decided it was too sweet. I added more fresh garlic, steak seasoning, and half of a beer! I also omitted the water and just used apple cider vinegar. Also added a little seasoned salt. It was fabulous!! I put in the crock pot along with a pork shoulder to make BBQ pulled pork sandwiches and it made enough for 6 people to eat and some leftovers! Definitely will make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
A nice recipe that stuck to the meat nicely. Had enough to mix with pulled pork too from this one recipe. Good go to recipe. Why buy? I used homemade ketchup. So had a nice fresh distinct flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I love anything vinegar based and thought this recipe sounded good. I used a cup of ketchup and a can of diced tomatoes and pretty much followed the rest of the recipe. After simmering down i tasted it and all I tasted was ketchup. 3.5 pints of ketchup. Definitely not the BBQ sauce I was trying for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Tracy Gavidia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
The family insists I use this recipe for barbeque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I love, love, love this recipe! I have stopped buying barbecue sauce and make this exclusively. The only change I made was to replace the molasses with agave and I halved the cayenne. My family loves to use this as a dip for potato chips, as well as anything else they can put it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States