Sweet and Spicy Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Delicious. Will make it again. Ate the whole recipe for breakfast and still wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eilee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I have to agree with the reviewer who said this tasted like beets. Unfortunately, since we don't care for beets, this wasn't a hit with our family. It looked beautiful in the bowl though, and kudos for the creative cooking method, which I plan to try with other greens that we like better (thinking collards might be a possibility). The ginger added bite, and the maple syrup added a delicate hint of sweetness. I found the cook times to be right on for the stems, but 2 minutes was not long enough for the greens. After cooking for 2 minutes in the pan, I put the lid on for another 2 minutes and let the greens steam, after which they had reduced just the right amount. Sorry this dish wasn't for us, but thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Recipe was ok. I keep trying to make myself like chard by trying new recipes and thought the maple syrup would help. It didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Quite tasty! But you have to like the flavor of chard, lest it might be a little strong for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
We were not fans of this recipe. It just wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Delicious, with one small caveat: It took me WAY longer than two minutes to get the chard to edible tenderness. Perhaps it depends on how you like your greens. I like mine tender, and after two, even five minutes, these were still crunchy. So I put the top on my deep skillet and continued to "steam" the chard until it was quite tender - at least ten more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I had never really tried Swiss chard before, and what a way to get introduced to it! The ginger really added great flavor. I used honey instead of maple syrup and it was delicious! I'll definitely be making this healthy and delicious side dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Loved this and I, too, used Organic Blue Agave for the lower glycemic index. Used a little more ginger since it is a favorite. Fabulous new recipe for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herbgal
Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Ginger & chard could be my new favorite combo! Didn't have maple syrup so just used a tablespoon of brown sugar and worked fine. Use just a dash more pepper than you think and it will be amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This recipe is delicious! Even my husband who normally hates green leafy vegetables (or in fact practically any vegetables!), really liked it and asked for it to be made again the same way. The only reason I am giving it 4 and not 5 stars is because the directions are inaccurate. This recipe took me almost an hour to prepare, and not 20 minutes as is stated in the directions! This considering that I only made half the suggested serving size! The chard stems alone took about 20-25 mins to soften on medium heat, and the leaves took A LOT longer to wilt on "low" than 2 minutes (I would say about 15 mins at least?) I started cooking ahead of time, thinking that I'll have this ready even before the main course (freshly caught rainbow trout and mashed potatoes), but as it turned out, we were about half way done with our meal, before I could serve the chard. Nonetheless, the flavors work really well together, and I really like the idea of saving and using the stems, when so many recipes call for discarding them. They are similar in texture to celery, but have a much milder taste. So, bottom line - this is delicious and I highly recommend the recipe, but you should plan to start cutting the leaves and cooking at least 45 minutes to an hour before you plan to serve this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carabiniero8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States