Sweet and Spicy Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Delicious. Will make it again. Ate the whole recipe for breakfast and still wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eilee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I have to agree with the reviewer who said this tasted like beets. Unfortunately, since we don't care for beets, this wasn't a hit with our family. It looked beautiful in the bowl though, and kudos for the creative cooking method, which I plan to try with other greens that we like better (thinking collards might be a possibility). The ginger added bite, and the maple syrup added a delicate hint of sweetness. I found the cook times to be right on for the stems, but 2 minutes was not long enough for the greens. After cooking for 2 minutes in the pan, I put the lid on for another 2 minutes and let the greens steam, after which they had reduced just the right amount. Sorry this dish wasn't for us, but thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Recipe was ok. I keep trying to make myself like chard by trying new recipes and thought the maple syrup would help. It didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Quite tasty! But you have to like the flavor of chard, lest it might be a little strong for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
We were not fans of this recipe. It just wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Delicious, with one small caveat: It took me WAY longer than two minutes to get the chard to edible tenderness. Perhaps it depends on how you like your greens. I like mine tender, and after two, even five minutes, these were still crunchy. So I put the top on my deep skillet and continued to "steam" the chard until it was quite tender - at least ten more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I had never really tried Swiss chard before, and what a way to get introduced to it! The ginger really added great flavor. I used honey instead of maple syrup and it was delicious! I'll definitely be making this healthy and delicious side dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Loved this and I, too, used Organic Blue Agave for the lower glycemic index. Used a little more ginger since it is a favorite. Fabulous new recipe for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herbgal
Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Ginger & chard could be my new favorite combo! Didn't have maple syrup so just used a tablespoon of brown sugar and worked fine. Use just a dash more pepper than you think and it will be amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States