Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Excellent - I cooked in foil packet on a grill - they came out perfectly cooked along side Christine's Turkey Tenderloins from this site. 1/2 recipe, with one large garnet yam, fed 3 adults as a side dish. Add something green (we did steamed green beans) and you have a great look for an early spring BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I had been looking for an alternative for sweet potatoes, because most of them really should be considered dessert recipes. This one worked nicely. I didn't have any sweet potatoes, so I used beets instead, and I didn't have the spices called for, so I used my own mix, and instead of baking it, I boiled it. Just kidding! What's up with people who review a recipe like that, having completely changed it?! I made it exactly as written, although next time, I will be tempted to try some of the spice variations suggested. After it was done, and after I tasted it, I mixed in some chopped walnuts, because my wife wanted "sweet potatoes with nuts". It was good that way, although I'm sure pecans would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe. I've made it many, many times in the oven as directed and it always gets rave reviews. Well tonight we made the recipe on the grill! Turned out fabulous without having to heat up the kitchen. 2 large sweet potatoes made 5 individual packets. Here's what I did: 1) Tear off 5 sheets of tinfoil (approx 10 inches long). 2) Spray each piece of tinfoil with cooking spray. 3) Place cubed potatoes on foil. 4) Sprinkle with spices (I use all the listed ingredients with the exception of substituting red pepper flakes for the cayenne pepper and adding some Old Bay. 5) Sprinkle with brown sugar (about 1/2 tbs per package). 6)Drizzle with olive oil. 7) Make a seam down the center of the foil, pinching together tightly and rolling over. Roll the ends up and seal tightly. 8) Grill on low over direct heat for 45 minutes, turning them over every approx every 15 minutes. The potatoes are probably done at this point, but we left them on the grill with no heat on them while we cooked the meat and veggies, in this case marinated pork chops and corn on the cob (still in the husk). So the sweet potatoes spent another 15 minutes on the grill over just ambient heat. I absolutely LOVE this. I will still make this recipe in the oven during the winter, but will DEFINITELY use this method in the spring / summer when most of our weekend cooking is done on the gas grill :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Used Orange Infused Olive Oil instead of plain olive oil to put it over the top! Also, didn't measure spices, because I was in a hurry, just sprinkled (to lightly cover) with garlic powder, paprika, cinnamon, salt, black pepper, cayenne and at least 3 tablespoons brown sugar. Tossed to be sure evenly coated and baked as directed. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I wanted to try it at 1st "as it is", just went light on the onion-garlic taste I'm not fond of and replaced with ras-el-hanout mix. It was very good, spicy enough but not too much. Everybody loved it. I'm giving a 4 stars though for they were not really crispy (after 20mn oven). Shall surely try again but with 2 changes to suit better my French taste : a little less oil (2 spoons enough)and far less sugar - if ever some...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Even the non-veggie eaters like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
SO easy and SOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Tried this at Thanksgiving and had to have it again for Christmas dinner. So much better than all the gooey, sweet recipes. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
FANTASTIC RECIPE AS WRITTEN! Loved every bite. I may add a little cinnamon, as some have suggested, next time...and YES THERE WILL BE A NEXT TIME..TIME...TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States