Sweet and Spicy Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Like others, I adjusted the spice amounts. That much on 2 potatoes would have been too spicy hot for us. The brown sugar I upped to 1T, the paprika became 1t, and the rest was at 1/4 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Loved this recipe. My kids ate the leftovers cold the next morning. That's how good they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Added 1/2 tsp white pepper and used adobo instead of poultry seasoning.... was excellent... then I used the leftovers along with zuchinni and onions to make a great brunch fritatta garnished with cheddar cheese and peppedews. I will add this to my staple recipes for sweet potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I really like the gist of the recipe, but like most of the people that have made this before I also changed the ingredients. I only used 2 tablespoons of olive oil, only 1 teaspoon of paprika, I omitted the poultry seasoning and added 2 more tablespoons of brown sugar. It was wonderful, the sweet hits your mouth first and then the spicy sneaks up on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I've made it just as directed as well as cut back on some of the spices - mostly out of laziness and not wanting to get them all out of the cupboard. The 2nd time I just used brown sugar, onion & garlic powders, cayenne and black pepper. I admit I liked the 2nd version best as the flavors didn't overpower the remainder of the meal however both ways were fantastic. This is going to be a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACHMILA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and enjoyed these very much. They did come out a bit dry though, so I think next time I will try covering them for the 1st 15 min and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This was OK. I really like sweet potato so this recipe was fine for me but for others, it may seem flavorless (which is odd because there are so many seasonings). I felt like the seasonings didn't give all that much flavor and the amount made the sweet potato feel almost powdery. Maybe if there were salt added, the flavor of the other seasonings would have been brought out more? The brown sugar was the best seasoning in this. If I were to make it again, I'd add more brown sugar, more poultry seasoning and way less paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Loved this receipe!! Only suggestion, as I like my sweet potatoes cripy is increase baking time or turn on the broiler for a few minutes!! Sooo YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I was also looking for a sweet potato recipe that was not like a dessert, and this fit the bill. I pretty much made it by the recipe, with a few little substitutions - but basically followed the gist of it. I also added chunks of onion, which came out delightfully crispy and yummy. Everything was a bit charred, which is why I'm giving it only four stars. Could it be the sugar? Anyway, like other reviewers have suggested, I think you could adapt this recipe to any number of herb/spice combinations, depending on your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Loved it. I am not a fan of all the sugary sweet potato recipes and this just hit the spot perfectly. The smell while they cooked was wonderful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States