Sweet and Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I made it twice, the first time following the recipe exactly, the second time with some slight adjustments that made it a 5. Definitely beware that this is the kind of spicy that will make you sweaty and give you the sniffles. Which I love, but some may want to slowly add and taste. Alterations: I put in a bit of agave syrup to give it a tad more of the sweet, used fresh ginger, put in more variety of vegetables (just anything that I had), doubled the sauce (I may triple next time, though), and sprinkled some fresh chopped cilantro on top at the end (as I frequently do with Asian dishes). Delicious! This is definitely an easy recipe with stuff you usually have on hand if you frequently cook Asian cuisine and very easy to play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This recipe would be a 5 stars with some tweaking. You should double the sauce but without doubling the chile paste. I would skip the salt as with it the dish is on the salty side. I also added 1 tablespoon of sugar to balance out the flavor. Also, use 2/8 cup of chicken stock and 2 teaspoons of cornstarch to thicken up the sauce. Very easy and quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This is a great recipe, but if you can't handle hot, you will want to half the chili paste and maybe leave out crushed red peppers. I also took others advice & put my chicken in the frig. the night before with a little soy some fresh ginger & garlic. I used bell peppers, & no broccoli, I was out..also, used minced fresh garlic. Will make again! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I love love love this recipe! I have made it many times with different vegtables green beans are really good with it, and serve it over jasmine rice and it is comparable to a thai dish that I've had at a local thai restaurant! We also change the protien as well, tonight we had it with beef, but it is also very good with pork tenderloin and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Very good! With just enough spice. I omitted the chili paste and used just a dash of chili powder. I also tripled the sauce. I used it over rice and was very pleased with the meal. Thanks Amanda for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I adjusted this tasty recipe for 8 servings. My husband and I really enjoyed it, however, it was a little too spicy for my kids. I couldn't find chili paste in my grocery store, so I used hot pepper paste instead. I only used 1 Tbsp. of it and 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes and it provided a good kick. I would definitely make this recipe again, but next time, I would reduce the hot pepper paste to 1 tsp. I did use a little more hoisin sauce, soy sauce and chicken stock because I wanted more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Not really sweet like the title reads... but good and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Good basic stir-fry recipe. I marinated the chicken for a couple hours in soy sauce, hoisin and brown sugar as per other reviewers. I also doubled the sauce and added extra veggies to beef it up. I added broccoli and snap peas lightly steamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Wonderful! Don't change a thing! A bit spicy, but, we like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
LOVED THIS! I followed this recipe exactly with the exception of adding a boag a frozed mixed stir fry veggies and a bag of frozed mixed peppers, and doubling the sauce because of the extra veggies. Just make sure you steam them in the microwave first or your sauce might become watery. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States