Sweet and Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Really good. LOVE the combination of sweet + spicy. Didn't have crushed red pepper (omitted) or chile paste (used sambal olek instead). Served over sticky rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
we so loved this.. i was worried bc the recipe had the word sweet in it and me and bf don't really care for sweet.. but wow.. only had 2 cups of broc so i used a little under 1 cup of red bell pepper to compensate.. used bbq sauce in place of hoisin.. didn't have low sodium soy sauce so i used the reg stuff and omitted the salt.. super good.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Good flavor, very spicy. I used 1 Tbs. of chile paste, but left out the red pepper flakes. I used only a scant 1/4 tsp. of salt on the chicken as it cooked, and it was almost too much salt. For me, this sauce needed a touch of sweetness. In addition, a little cornstarch would give the sauce a sheen and to help it cling to the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
As many reviews state there is not enough sauce so had to make adjustments for that. Got a little heavy handed with the hot stuff and mine got a little too spicy for my taste. My hubby loved it! I also used different varieties of veggies. Bok Choy, asparagus, carrots, peas, red onion, mushrooms, green pepper. Flavor was really good I just made it too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
this made a fast dinner. good. not outstanding, but good mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This was delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that I didn't add any additional salt (figuring the other ingredients were salty enough). That turned out to be the best choice for our family. I will definitely make this again; it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I made this without the green onions (no one likes them in our household) and only 1/2 tbsp of chili paste. My husband said it was the best thing I've ever made...EVER. He loves stir fry and rice so it was almost guaranteed to please, but I was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NADINEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I used Roasted Red Chile Paste and regular soy sauce. I ended up putting in about 1/4 cup water and a little bouillon powder instead of 1/8 cup chicken stock. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is a very tasty recipe. I changed it a bit because we try to follow a low sodium diet. I kept the hoisin sauce, chili paste and soy sauce the same (1 tablespoon of each). I used way more chicken (3 freezer ready packages of Perdue Fit and Easy chicken which I believe is 6 breasts). I used two cups of chicken broth and I quadrupled the amount of ginger and red pepper flakes (2 teaspoons of ginger, 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes). I was scared my version of this recipe would be bland but it wasn't. The red pepper flakes give it the perfect amount of spice. It was very tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I made it twice, the first time following the recipe exactly, the second time with some slight adjustments that made it a 5. Definitely beware that this is the kind of spicy that will make you sweaty and give you the sniffles. Which I love, but some may want to slowly add and taste. Alterations: I put in a bit of agave syrup to give it a tad more of the sweet, used fresh ginger, put in more variety of vegetables (just anything that I had), doubled the sauce (I may triple next time, though), and sprinkled some fresh chopped cilantro on top at the end (as I frequently do with Asian dishes). Delicious! This is definitely an easy recipe with stuff you usually have on hand if you frequently cook Asian cuisine and very easy to play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States