Sweet and Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
We thought it was a great recipe! I made some alterations: we marinated the chicken in soy sauce/garlic/ginger/splenda, I also made extra sauce, adding a bit more hoisin sauce and added some splenda to the recipe to make it a bit more sweet to ward of some of the heat from the spices. I skipped out on the salt in the recipe... I found that this recipe was already on the salty side, so I also used low-sodium chicken broth. This is now a family favorite! It's also great with sticky rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This was a very adaptable recipe! We aren't big on really spicy food so I left out the chile paste and cut the crushed red pepper to 1/8 tsp. I could still taste some 'heat' which was just perfect for my family. Didn't have any hoisin sauce so I added 1 tbl brown sugar as others mentioned. It wasn't sweet tasting at all but was delicious. I think there was a misprint in the recipe on the garlic so I only used 4 cloves. I also added celery, green bell peppers, mushrooms, and slightly steamed carrots. I also added 8 oz of al dente spaghetti so I increased the chicken stock to 2/3 cup and mixed in 1 tbl of cornstarch to it to thicken the sauce a bit before adding the cooked spaghetti. Just what I was looking for. Loved the ginger in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Needs twice the sauce for best flavor and to coat the chicken and broccoli sufficiently. Add some peanuts or cashews for crunch. Also good with basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
very good recipe. made a couple of changes. used pork instead of chicken and white wine instead chicken broth becuase those are what we had. also i marinated the pork in soy, wine, garli, ginger, and chili sauce. i think it helped make the meat very tender and flavorful. also i doubled the sauce ingredients and i wouldn't use the salt and pepper becuase i think the other ingredients cover that aspect of the recipe. great recipe with veggies served over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was really yummy. I made a few changes just to up the veggies in it. I added more broccoli, a yellow pepper, sliced celery and carrots. I probably tripled the sauce too. I served it over some basmati rice. It was a great healthy dinner. Thanks Amanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
My husband and I loved this dish! I had to leave out the hoisen sauce because my local grocery store doesn't carry it, but I added brown sugar and cashews...it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This was good. I used a chili garlic sauce (found in the Asian section of your grocery store)aproximately 1 tablespoon and used fresh minced ginger approximately 1 tablespoon. I also added a lot more veggies: edamame, baby carrots, bok choy, red pepper and the broccoli. I seasoned my chickend with garlic and season salt and ommitted the reg salt that was called for. This was great but VERY spicy. Next time I will reduce the amount of chili garlic sauce that I use and perhap will add a little sugar. I doubled my sauce and added all of the ingredients (soy, broth, hoisin -- to taste.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Very good base recipe. I took other reviewers suggestions and marinated the chicken in soy sauce, fresh ginger, garlic and some hoisin sauce for about 1.5 hours. The chicken came out so tender that I think this is key if you have the time. I also didn't think there was enough sauce so I doubled it as well. Didn't have any green onions and forgot the red pepper, but it didn't matter as there was still plenty of flavor. I also tossed in some sliced almonds at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was good and made for a nice dinner served over jasmine rice. I did improvise a bit by adding some red bell pepper and mushrooms that I needed to use up. I cooked the red bell pepper and mushrooms and steamed the broccoli early in the afternoon, then just added them at the end to heat them through - less chance of the veggies losing their nice color and overcooking the chicken. I tripled the sauce, but only added 2 t. of garlic chile paste which was plenty hot for us and we like spicy. Next time I might thicken the sauce with a little corn starch and add just a bit of brown sugar to sweeten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I thought this was great ... I marinated the chicken in a soy sauce, honey and garlic powder mixture overnight. Really made the chicken tasty and stayed moist. This is definitlely spicy, even after cutting back the chili paste/red pepper. Make sure you taste it after adding a 1/4 of what's called for ... might be just right if you don't like spicy food. My kids even ate the brocolli they like this so much! Served over sticky rice and will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States