Sweet and Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2004
Awesome dish, however it was a little dry so we added some Teriyaki sauce to give it more moisture. The ginger/red pepper combo was the best part. We also added tiger prawns and yakisoba noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
I really liked this recipe - but its not quite perfect. The next time I make it, I will cut back the time I steam the broccoli so that they still have a little snap to them when they enter the stir fry. Also, I might add some peanuts, or raisins, or another dash of sliced green onions to garnish as this dish needed more texture diversity. But overall, VERY worthwhile starting place with lots of fun, rarely used, ingredients. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONHALEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe. I am not an expert cook but it was very helpful. I was unable to find Hoisin Sauce in my local store but I cheated. I used a packet of stir-fry seasoning I found in the local supermarket and added a few ingredients from the recipe. Nevertheless, it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
very good recipe. made a couple of changes. used pork instead of chicken and white wine instead chicken broth becuase those are what we had. also i marinated the pork in soy, wine, garli, ginger, and chili sauce. i think it helped make the meat very tender and flavorful. also i doubled the sauce ingredients and i wouldn't use the salt and pepper becuase i think the other ingredients cover that aspect of the recipe. great recipe with veggies served over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I JUST FINISHED making this recipie. I haven't even set the table yet, but I had to post a review. It is delicious! Its the proper amount of sweet and just enough spice to leave a pleasant tingle in your mouth. I followed the directions exactly,to a point. I didn't have any chili paste, so I mixed 1/2 tbl chili powder with water. I added more broth at the end b/c it wasn't enough yummy sauce for me. ( I just snuck another bite... DELICIOUS!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Yummy!!!! Thanks for this one! It was fast, easy and very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
We thought it was a great recipe! I made some alterations: we marinated the chicken in soy sauce/garlic/ginger/splenda, I also made extra sauce, adding a bit more hoisin sauce and added some splenda to the recipe to make it a bit more sweet to ward of some of the heat from the spices. I skipped out on the salt in the recipe... I found that this recipe was already on the salty side, so I also used low-sodium chicken broth. This is now a family favorite! It's also great with sticky rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
A very good, tasty, simple recipe to make. It was full of flavor and I will definatly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Yum Yum! I added some baby corn and some chestnuts for some crunch. I also served this with Cashews. Double the sauce it tastes wonderful. I loved this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTOMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaspe, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
This recipe is very good! This is a delicious meal that you can make in a short period of time. I followed the directions exactly. I have already put it in my recipe file - as it is definitely a keeper! Thanks again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States