Sweet and Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
this made a fast dinner. good. not outstanding, but good mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This was delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that I didn't add any additional salt (figuring the other ingredients were salty enough). That turned out to be the best choice for our family. I will definitely make this again; it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I made this without the green onions (no one likes them in our household) and only 1/2 tbsp of chili paste. My husband said it was the best thing I've ever made...EVER. He loves stir fry and rice so it was almost guaranteed to please, but I was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NADINEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I used Roasted Red Chile Paste and regular soy sauce. I ended up putting in about 1/4 cup water and a little bouillon powder instead of 1/8 cup chicken stock. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is a very tasty recipe. I changed it a bit because we try to follow a low sodium diet. I kept the hoisin sauce, chili paste and soy sauce the same (1 tablespoon of each). I used way more chicken (3 freezer ready packages of Perdue Fit and Easy chicken which I believe is 6 breasts). I used two cups of chicken broth and I quadrupled the amount of ginger and red pepper flakes (2 teaspoons of ginger, 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes). I was scared my version of this recipe would be bland but it wasn't. The red pepper flakes give it the perfect amount of spice. It was very tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I made it twice, the first time following the recipe exactly, the second time with some slight adjustments that made it a 5. Definitely beware that this is the kind of spicy that will make you sweaty and give you the sniffles. Which I love, but some may want to slowly add and taste. Alterations: I put in a bit of agave syrup to give it a tad more of the sweet, used fresh ginger, put in more variety of vegetables (just anything that I had), doubled the sauce (I may triple next time, though), and sprinkled some fresh chopped cilantro on top at the end (as I frequently do with Asian dishes). Delicious! This is definitely an easy recipe with stuff you usually have on hand if you frequently cook Asian cuisine and very easy to play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This recipe would be a 5 stars with some tweaking. You should double the sauce but without doubling the chile paste. I would skip the salt as with it the dish is on the salty side. I also added 1 tablespoon of sugar to balance out the flavor. Also, use 2/8 cup of chicken stock and 2 teaspoons of cornstarch to thicken up the sauce. Very easy and quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This is a great recipe, but if you can't handle hot, you will want to half the chili paste and maybe leave out crushed red peppers. I also took others advice & put my chicken in the frig. the night before with a little soy some fresh ginger & garlic. I used bell peppers, & no broccoli, I was out..also, used minced fresh garlic. Will make again! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I love love love this recipe! I have made it many times with different vegtables green beans are really good with it, and serve it over jasmine rice and it is comparable to a thai dish that I've had at a local thai restaurant! We also change the protien as well, tonight we had it with beef, but it is also very good with pork tenderloin and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Very good! With just enough spice. I omitted the chili paste and used just a dash of chili powder. I also tripled the sauce. I used it over rice and was very pleased with the meal. Thanks Amanda for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States