Sweet and Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Excellent dish. I made this with pork tenderloin, and it basically disappeared off the plates. As with other reviewers, I tripled the sauce, though I only doubled the chili paste and crushed red pepper. I had a stir fry veggie mix in the freezer; I used that instead of straight broccoli. I imagine any stir fry veggie mix would work. Next time I make it, I may just try using stew meat, just to see how that works, too. One last thing--I didn't have green onions, so I used Maya sweet instead. I sauteed them a bit beforehand, then added the marinated blend together to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made this for me and my lady friend and we really enjoyed it! My only complaint of this dish is that it was spicier than we really liked, but that's not really the recipes fault, it says it's spicy! So next time we'll cut out a little bit of the chili paste. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This is the "stir fry" my fiancee always asks for as long as I make extra sauce for it. If I get it wrong or try to change it up she gets sassy and asks for it the right way. And it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOOT77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I had wanted to find a simple, easy to make stir-fry. And this is it! Love it! I read through reviews and took a few suggestions for a variation on some of the suggested recipe. I also ended up adding a bit of corn starch because I like thicker sauce. But this is for sure a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Simple and quick stir fry. Added bell pepper and carrot along with the broccoli. Did not steam the broccoli, but threw all the vegetables in after the chicken cooked, and cooked for a few minutes. Followed suggestions and doubled the sauce, as well as used brown sugar in place of hoisin. Also omitted the salt. The sauce does not thicken up, might add some cornstarch next time. Good level of heat, and overall great flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I realized after making this recipe it was a little too spicy for me. I doubled the sauce as people suggested. I should have added more broccoli and maybe some carrots as shown in the picture. It just lacked color after the broccoli faded in color. It was a nice bright green til I mixed it in then it faded. I will try it again but adding more color. I did not use the salt as people suggested and it tasted fine. I'll give it one more try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Good, follow directions...some alterations made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Great dish-would just make larger servings. Great flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This smelled wonderful as it was cooking, but was just way too spicy for me. I'm not really familiar with all of the ingredients, so I wonder if there is a less spicy version of the chili paste. Mine said "ground fresh chili paste", so I thought I had the right thing, but when I read other reviews stating that this wasn't spicy, I just don't get it. I may make it again without the chili paste, or maybe with just a tiny bit, but definitely not the full amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alvy, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Quick & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States