Sweet and Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Like other reviewers, I added more vegetables and increased the sauce. It was plenty salty without adding the salt recommended in the recipe. Also, I felt it was spicy enough so I didn't add the crushed red pepper. Very adaptable and easy recipe and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
As a novice at stir fry I was a little nervous but this recipe was so easy! I doubled the sauce as suggested and marinated the chicken in hoisin sauce, garlic and ginger. So easy and lots of great flavor going on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was a pretty tasty dish; however, we made several additions and changes to add more flavor, based on other reviews. I chopped up a variety of vegetables - julienned carrots, broccoli, snap peas, red bell pepper and green onions. I stir fried everything but the onions for until the veggies were still crunchy and set them aside. I marinate the diced chicken in soy sauce, hoisin sauce, red chili paste, brown sugar, 1 sliced garlic clove, and a splash of rice vinegar. I then sautéed the chicken, remaining garlic, and green onions and then added the sauce mixture (same combination I used above, except I didn't add rice vinegar) Once it was done, I added the veggies back in with the chicken and the minced ginger, cooking only until the veggies were heated through. I served it with sticky rice and additional red chili paste, to taste. Delish! This is a recipe you could do a lot of things with and have fun with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ely, Nevada, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written, and just didn't like it as much as I thought I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This recipe had a mixed review in my house. My husband was a big fan and liked the spicy profile. I thought it was a little too spicy for my taste and I prefer a thicker sauce. If you like it really spicy leave the red pepper flakes in - if not - leave them out. I added red bell pepper, water chestnuts, & bamboo shoots for added veggies, but, left everything else as is. I will try this recipe again, but, possibly add a little cornstarch slurry for a thicker sauce to coat the chicken and vegetables. I also think fresh ginger would be better because the ground ginger gets lost with all the other strong flavors. My husband rated 5 stars and I would give 3-1/2 as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I used fresh ginger and sriracha because I couldn't find chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eramirez933
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
It was delicious! Used all the ingredients and it was perfect. Very easy to make. & if anyone needs to find the ingredients Marianos and whole foods grocery stores have all the items. Mainly Marianos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by niecyny
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I Love this. I've made this three times. Twice using white wine instead of chicken stock and it taste so much better. I omitted the red peppers because I didn't have any and omitted the chile paste and just used crushed red pepper. I also followed the suggestion to marinate the chicken in soy, ginger and hoisin prior. Makes the chicken so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Wow! This was an extremely hot (spicy) dish. We couldn't eat it as the recipe goes. I added agave nectar to sweeten it up enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I can't have soy so I replaced the soy sauce with Worcestershire sauce instead, and added a little lemon juice and it was very very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States