Sweet and Spicy Soup with Black-Eyed Peas and Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This sounded strange, but was absolutely great. I was very pleased with the soup, which was easy to prepare, and my family liked it. Made for really delicious lunch the next day after the flavors married overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This was a lot better than I expected it to be. I love sweet foods, this one was just right. The sweet taste was not too over powering because of the spicy taste that it also gave. I will be making this dish a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was awesome! I did make a few changes:Instead of roasting red pepper, I cut red, yellow and green peppers into chunks and sauteed then with the onions I substituted 1 can of stewed tomatoes for the plum tomatoes. I added 1 large minced thai chili pepper instead of cayenne. I added a little bit more cumin than a pinch (probably 1/4- 1/2 tsp). I simmered it for an hour to really bring out the flavors. I blended it with a hand blender for about 5 seconds just to make the broth a little thicker. I also sprinkled it with asiago before serving. Definitely a good recipe! This would probably make a yummy crock pot soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Wow, so so so good! I followed "Big Rev"s suggestions of reducing the cinnamon, leaving out some spices, sautéing the spices with the onions, adding chicken, and skipping the water and using all broth. I still think there should be more broth, so I'd probably go with 3 cups next time. I did not add the bell pepper (I am allergic), and I did not have Cumin or coriander so I substituted with a pinch of curry powder which has both in it. I also used a fresh sweet potato instead of canned (just simmer it 45 minutes instead of 20). I found in my store's produce section "reconstituted" black eyed peas (brand name Melissa’s) which basically just saved me having to soak the dried peas overnight (I don’t like the canned version). All in all, this was a tasty dish and I plan to make it again for a dinner party in a few weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Dee-licious! I followed this excellent recipe exactly. The spices & herbs blend to create a wonderful taste. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Yummy soup! Nice and sweet! And healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
My husband has declared this "the best stew". I used fresh black eyed peas and a fresh sweet potato. Since I used fresh veggies I had to increase the veg broth to 3 cups and I was also more generous with the sugar and spices. I also increased the cooking time to about 40 minutes. This was very hearty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Beautiful! Thank you Big Rey, for your review, as I took your lead and I'm so glad I did. I used vegetable broth instead of water; didn't have any stewed tomatoes on hand, so used diced, and used roasted red peppers. I can't imagine how it would taste if I used any more than 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. That was enough. Once it was done, I pureed half of the soup ~ it looks, smells, and tastes absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This was delicious! The flavor of the broth is similar to a barbecue rub. I thought it needed something green in it, so I added kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Exotic and delicious. I used a large fresh yam and 1/2 can diced tomatoes. I left out the onion and garlic powder since the "real things" were already in the soup, and cut the cinnamon to 1 tsp. Even better the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States