Sweet and Spicy Salmon with Grapefruit Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Fantastic Recipe...one of the best for salmon that I have tried. I doubled the rub and used the extra to make a thicker topping. The mazola really worked to help the rub/topping stick to the salmon. Overall delicious combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I really changed this one up. We don't like salmon or spicy stuff. I didn't make the salsa either. But with that being said, I got a tilapia filet and used the other flavors just as posted and it was terrific! One of my boyfriends favorite recipes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I like the rub! Tasty and flavorful. As for the grapefruit salsa, I think it is a good complement to the salmon. I cheated and sprinkled about 1/4 tsp sugar so it isn't that sour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This is a winner all around. If you've never sectioned a grapefruit before (with a knife), google for directions. So much better than peeling the grapefruit and pulling apart the sections that covered in the membrane that can be tough to chew. This was not spicy at all. Next time I will add more cayenne to get a bit of heat This would also be very good grilled. Instead of baking at 375 for 15-20 mins, I much prefer the flavor of broiling it for 10-12 mins. This gives it a nicer crust with moist center. Do not overcook salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I tried this out tonight and was pleasantly surprised... I left the salsa on the side just in case I didn't like it etc but I found that the rub on the fish was a bit bitter and the salsa is what makes it. I think the rub needs a little less paprika but not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This had outstanding flavor. We used pink grapefruit from our tree which made making the salsa rather labor intensive. Will make again, but will use canned grapefruit sections.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
It was something new that we tried. It was great with mashed potatoes and a nice green salad. Next time for the rub I will use less cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe as written except replaced cilantro with parsley because we can't stand the stuff. The dish got mixed reviews. Hubby liked it, he said he would give it 4 stars, would have been 5 if it had instructed to remove the skin. One daughter liked the fish but not the salsa, the other liked the salsa but not the fish. My son took one look at it and refused to even taste it, and I didn't care for it at all. In fairness I'm not much of a salmon fan. The rub and salsa would probably be great on chicken. I won't make the salmon again but might try the rest with chicken sometime, especially since there was so much salsa left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
We liked the rub and it had a nice flavor. The grapefruit salsa didn't go with the fish at all for us. A different fruit subbed would be better. Not sure I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by shannonferger
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
The entire family loved this recipe! The rub was wonderful, we will be using that on fish again in the future as well as poultry, and we didn't find it too hot. Again, if you are concerned with how spicy it may be, just reduce the amount of the cayenne. Instead of the grapefruit salsa, I made a mango/pineapple/canteloupe salsa, and it was nice and refreshing paired with the salmon. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonferger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States