Sweet and Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
A few pointers: 1. Do use more than two dashes of hot sauce. 6 will give it some nice flavor. 2. Make sure, especially if you're baking on aluminum foil, to spray with non-stick spray so the seeds don't get stuck and peel off with little bits of aluminum attached. 3. Make sure to spread the seeds out evenly on your baking sheet. Otherwise, the seeds piled up won't be done when the ones in a single layer are already burnt. This recipe is pretty good! I think you could kick it up with a blend of allspice and molasses rather than brown sugar, but otherwise pretty nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I love these, soooo good. I double the sauce mix because the flavor is so good and add lots of extra drops of hot sauce. If you don't wanna take time to dry your seeds, boil them in salt water for 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Really need to up the seasonings, came out bland and burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
My wife has never cared for pumpkin seeds before, and absolutely loved these! No alterations necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
The best tasting pumpkin seeds I have made to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Delicious! Will be a yearly tradition. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Delicious, like caramel corn without all that karo syrup and a nice boost of protein! Unlike another poster, I do think you need the salt to counteract the sweet. But I did use sea salt instead of morton's - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
These are addicting. I added extra hot sauce for some more kick, and they are still pretty mild. Next time I think I will increase the sugar just a bit, as they aren't very sweet. I was hesitant about the worchestshire, but it added a nice depth of flavor. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I've never really been a fan of pumpkin seeds, due perhaps to flavorless recipes. I was worried about the hot sauce, so I used a little bit more sugar. It turned out great. The timing for me was a bit off, and I had to retrieve them about fifteen minutes early. Overall a great recipe and one that I'm definitely going to have to make again. (Thankfully my family carves many pumpkins for Hallowe'en, no shortage of seeds!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I didn't much taste the sweet or the spice, just the salt. I'd reduce or even omit it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States