Sweet and Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I've roasted pumpkin seeds before, and this recipe sounded quick and easy, but they were awful. I rated them a one, only because I had to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanagan
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I upped the "spicy" part by adding a good squeeze of sriracha sauce, and Can't. Stop. Eating. These. They're awesome, and about a million times better than any store-bought pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
What I did differently: melted the butter and added everything BEFORE coating the seeds, so I could taste the mixture first. I used light brown sugar but after taste-testing, decided to add a bit of white sugar too. Added more hot sauce (probably about 10 "drops"). I also boiled the seeds first in salted water for 10 minutes, per another reviewer's suggestion. I made some with this coating and some without. Didn't "wow" me on the first taste, but I found myself going back for handful after handful till I noticed they were gone! Next time will try dark brown sugar and definitely more hot sauce. These weren't really spicy at all, even with the extra hot sauce. And boiling the seeds first didn't affect the quality at all, definitely recommend that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I totally forgot to add the Worcestershire ...but this was amazing!!! Sweet with a spicy kick! Loved it. Up the dashes of hot sauce and yummmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was "ok" mine did come out burnt before it was time to come out. I should not have added a dash of liquid smoke to it. I may try again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
These are great! We made a very large batch and brought it to a potluck. People were munching them before things were set up. We doubled the sauce recipe for more flavor. One caution: They are addicting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
These were good and I'd make them again but even with 6 dashes of hot sauce they barely had any heat to them. So if you want spicy, you need to add more hot sauce for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These are good, but not quite what I was expecting. I would use a little molasses or more brown sugar to make them sweeter. Also, I added way more hot sauce than called for (using Texas Pete) and it still didn't have much kick. If I do this again, I'll use less salt and Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I wish there were more stars that I could give these seeds! I have been eating pumpkin seeds every year all my life. I decided to see if there was something different I could do for a special treat for the boys and decided on this one. Am I glad I did. I went by the recipe exactly. They reminded me somewhat of kettle corn, with a little spice (but not too much for the kids). All the kids and hubby really loved them. Next year we'll have to save more seeds. Thank you Lotus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
admittedly, the only pumpkin seed recipe i've tried, but really tasty! i used extra hot sauce, 2 dashes instead of drops. great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftytammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States