Sweet and Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Very tasty. Letting them dry overnight is very helpful- also stir them every 10-15 minutes prevents them from burning. (1 good stir every 15 minutes 3 times did the trick for me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wokaway

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
AS AN ADDITIONAL NOTE TO THE REVIEW BELOW: One of the things that really made the difference with these, I believe, was letting the seeds dry out completely before baking them. I rinsed and put them on a paper-towel lined baking sheet overnight. Also, my husband just tried these, and he says that there was no possible way I could have made these any better. He says he'll be growing more pie-pumpkins for me next year, just so he can get the seeds! These are *that* good! Oh, wow, I've been making different varieties of roasted pumpkin seeds for years, and after just taking these out of the oven and being unable to stop eating them, this recipe is going straight into my autumn recipe file!! I couldn't believe how good these were! The only changes I made weren't that significant--I used Smart Balance Light instead of butter to cut the calories a little, used a tad extra brown sugar and replaced the hot sauce with a good dash of cayenne pepper (didn't have a spicy enough hot sauce that I liked on-hand). I also baked these for only 35 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes or so, to make sure they didn't stick to the cookie-sheet and burn. I can't wait to serve these at our annual pumpkin-carving party--I know they're be a hit. Thanks for the yummy and super-easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I really liked your recipe. My father-in-law thought the seeds were wonderful. He usually buys the bags of store bought seeds these are much better. I enjoyed them much better than the ones i usually make with season salt. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
HUGE HIT! We ate them by the fist fulls. Then we sprinkled them on our sqaush soup on Thanksgiving and everyone raved. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
These were great; the kis loved them too. I used 4 dashes of Tabsco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Yummy!! Another great recipe for using up all of those seeds from the inside of your pumpkins!! I loved the 'sweet heat'...added much more hot sauce and thought these were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Just okay. I had issues with the seeds starting to burn, I guess from the brown sugar. I thought they were more sweet than spicy, I would have preferred more spice than sweet. Tasted 4 star out of the oven still hot but even kids commented that once cooled they were only so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Loved it!! Made a batch for my husband because of the hearty ingredients. (he never liked pumpkin seeds. ever). Am surprised it was a bigger hit with everyone, kids included, than the old fashioned sugar,salt & cinnamon seeds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
These were easy to make and I could see how they would be super yummy. . .but I should have taken them out after 30 minutes because now they're slightly burned. I'd recommend keeping a close eye on them while cooking, stirring every once in a while. Then when you notice the sugar caramelizing on your spoon, go ahead and pull them out then let them sit until cooled and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I made two batches. First was exactly as described. They were really good but not much "Spicy". I used Franks Hot Sauce. Second batch I added a teaspoon of hot sauce. I think it was the perfect balance. I will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States