Sweet and Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
After spending the day trying various pumpkin seed recipes (6 total), this is by far the best! I was leary of this recipe being too "hot" for my children, but No! They love it! Even more so than the cinnamon and sugar recipes. It's not too salty, and not too sweet. I used basic Tabasco Sauce. (Would add more dashes of sauce for adults.) Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I love these, soooo good. I double the sauce mix because the flavor is so good and add lots of extra drops of hot sauce. If you don't wanna take time to dry your seeds, boil them in salt water for 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Yummy!! I am usually a bit hesitant to try a recipe that doesn't have a number of reviews but I went out on a limb on this one. It was well worth it. These are really good. I used more than a couple drops of hot sauce (more like a few dashes) and was afraid it was going to be too much. Nope, just right. Perfect balance between sweet and salty with a little bit of heat. Also, I let them cook closer to an hour and moved them around on the pan every 15 minute or so. Made just about 2 cups (2 pumpkins worth) last night and between my bf and I I'll bet they'll be gone by tonight. Now, if I can just come up with a reson to buy more pumpkins....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
These are addicting. I added extra hot sauce for some more kick, and they are still pretty mild. Next time I think I will increase the sugar just a bit, as they aren't very sweet. I was hesitant about the worchestshire, but it added a nice depth of flavor. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This smells wonderful when cooking. Just the right balance of sweet and salty. I guess I am a novice to pumpkin seeds, I didn't realize that you eat the shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
AS AN ADDITIONAL NOTE TO THE REVIEW BELOW: One of the things that really made the difference with these, I believe, was letting the seeds dry out completely before baking them. I rinsed and put them on a paper-towel lined baking sheet overnight. Also, my husband just tried these, and he says that there was no possible way I could have made these any better. He says he'll be growing more pie-pumpkins for me next year, just so he can get the seeds! These are *that* good! Oh, wow, I've been making different varieties of roasted pumpkin seeds for years, and after just taking these out of the oven and being unable to stop eating them, this recipe is going straight into my autumn recipe file!! I couldn't believe how good these were! The only changes I made weren't that significant--I used Smart Balance Light instead of butter to cut the calories a little, used a tad extra brown sugar and replaced the hot sauce with a good dash of cayenne pepper (didn't have a spicy enough hot sauce that I liked on-hand). I also baked these for only 35 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes or so, to make sure they didn't stick to the cookie-sheet and burn. I can't wait to serve these at our annual pumpkin-carving party--I know they're be a hit. Thanks for the yummy and super-easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Really need to up the seasonings, came out bland and burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Delicious! Will be a yearly tradition. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Fantastic recipe! I left the hot sauce off for my kids. Loved them and will make every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Brian liked these but said he prefers the plain salted ones best. I really liked these at least as well as the salted ones if not better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States