Sweet and Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This smells wonderful when cooking. Just the right balance of sweet and salty. I guess I am a novice to pumpkin seeds, I didn't realize that you eat the shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Yummy!! I am usually a bit hesitant to try a recipe that doesn't have a number of reviews but I went out on a limb on this one. It was well worth it. These are really good. I used more than a couple drops of hot sauce (more like a few dashes) and was afraid it was going to be too much. Nope, just right. Perfect balance between sweet and salty with a little bit of heat. Also, I let them cook closer to an hour and moved them around on the pan every 15 minute or so. Made just about 2 cups (2 pumpkins worth) last night and between my bf and I I'll bet they'll be gone by tonight. Now, if I can just come up with a reson to buy more pumpkins....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Brian liked these but said he prefers the plain salted ones best. I really liked these at least as well as the salted ones if not better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
After spending the day trying various pumpkin seed recipes (6 total), this is by far the best! I was leary of this recipe being too "hot" for my children, but No! They love it! Even more so than the cinnamon and sugar recipes. It's not too salty, and not too sweet. I used basic Tabasco Sauce. (Would add more dashes of sauce for adults.) Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Fantastic recipe! I left the hot sauce off for my kids. Loved them and will make every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I had to adjust for the lack of seeds, but they were pretty good. It was my first attempt at pumpkin seeds and it went over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coopersville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Fun alternative for my family to the standard roasted seeds. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I didn't much taste the sweet or the spice, just the salt. I'd reduce or even omit it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I've never really been a fan of pumpkin seeds, due perhaps to flavorless recipes. I was worried about the hot sauce, so I used a little bit more sugar. It turned out great. The timing for me was a bit off, and I had to retrieve them about fifteen minutes early. Overall a great recipe and one that I'm definitely going to have to make again. (Thankfully my family carves many pumpkins for Hallowe'en, no shortage of seeds!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
These are addicting. I added extra hot sauce for some more kick, and they are still pretty mild. Next time I think I will increase the sugar just a bit, as they aren't very sweet. I was hesitant about the worchestshire, but it added a nice depth of flavor. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States