Sweet and Spicy Pork and Napa Cabbage Stir-Fry with Spicy Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Love this all I changed was adding pineapple juice and scallions to the meat marinade instead of chilli sauce I used general tso chilli sauce ,and also purchased pre cooked noodles.Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
OMG -- this was amazing. So easy and I found a use for my leftover cabbage. After reading other reviews I anticipated it being rather sweet so I reduced the amount of chili sauce for the noodles and increased soy sauce slightly. The only other alterations I made were to use a mix of coloured peppers, fresh ginger and garlic, double the amount of chili flakes (our family likes spicy!) and added half a cup of chicken broth to the veggies when cooking -- without this I can't imagine how gooey the sauce would be after adding the cornstarch. Delish -- my fussy family of four LOVED it. We WILL be having this again! Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was very good. I had left over pork and I could not figure out what to do with it until I came across this recipe. The modifications I made was that I used a bag of broccoli slaw and added red bell peppers to it and ramen noodles instead of chinese noodles. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was just okay for me, but I think because I didn't like the brand of sweet chili sauce I purchased. Given the quantity in the recipe, that would make a big difference. So I'm rating four stars instead of three (my usual for 'okay'). I will try this again with a different sauce, or make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Excellent recipe. Made it as stated. Would not change a thing. I was requested to make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
It is probably my fault as I used sriracha sauce instead of the sweet chile sauce but I found the noodles made with the chile sauce alone a little monotonous in flavor. The pork mixture is tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Great fast recipe. I used everything fresh, mushrooms instead of carrots, that's what I had. I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doria Cowell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Made as written - except that I sliced up some left over cooked pork tenderloin (just added it in a little later in the recipe), rice noodles (soaked as per pkg instructions)because that's all I had on hand, and regular cabbage because again, that's all I had on hand. Overall this was an excellent recipe, though a little on the dry side. Next time I'll double the amount of water (but using chicken stock instead) to make it a little saucier. We don't like things overly spicy but this recipe suited us to a T. I'll be making this again. It was quick and easy to prepare and just one pan to wash up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This recipe made a delicious dinner, like homemade take-out! 5 stars for flavor, 4 stars for method. After reading the directions, I made some changes. I felt that if I just added the carrots, peppers and celery to the wok after the pork was browned, they would still be pretty ‘hard’ when plated, or the pork would be overcooked. I chose to start by partially stir-frying the veggies in a bit of oil (excluding the napa cabbage) just until they began to lose that hardness, then set them aside. I added them back into the wok along with the cabbage after the meat was browned. They were the perfect tender crisp at serving time. The only other change I made was to add a bit of ginger and fresh garlic to the marinade for the pork, and let the meat marinate for a few hours. I also removed everything from the wok with a slotted spoon, before adding the cornstarch slurry to the juices in the pan. The sauce for the noodles was perfectly delish and not too sweet. I think it totally depends on which brand you choose for the sweet chili sauce, my sauce was sweet and spicy because I chose a sweet spicy (Asian) chili garlic sauce. The ketchup type American sweet chili sauce would be a huge mistake! I will make this again, using chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I made this dish and thought it was delicious. It's felt fresh because all the veggies but yet it was spicy from the sweet chili sauce. I also used fresh ginger because I think that adds a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States