Sweet and Spicy Pork and Napa Cabbage Stir-Fry with Spicy Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Made as written - except that I sliced up some left over cooked pork tenderloin (just added it in a little later in the recipe), rice noodles (soaked as per pkg instructions)because that's all I had on hand, and regular cabbage because again, that's all I had on hand. Overall this was an excellent recipe, though a little on the dry side. Next time I'll double the amount of water (but using chicken stock instead) to make it a little saucier. We don't like things overly spicy but this recipe suited us to a T. I'll be making this again. It was quick and easy to prepare and just one pan to wash up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This recipe made a delicious dinner, like homemade take-out! 5 stars for flavor, 4 stars for method. After reading the directions, I made some changes. I felt that if I just added the carrots, peppers and celery to the wok after the pork was browned, they would still be pretty ‘hard’ when plated, or the pork would be overcooked. I chose to start by partially stir-frying the veggies in a bit of oil (excluding the napa cabbage) just until they began to lose that hardness, then set them aside. I added them back into the wok along with the cabbage after the meat was browned. They were the perfect tender crisp at serving time. The only other change I made was to add a bit of ginger and fresh garlic to the marinade for the pork, and let the meat marinate for a few hours. I also removed everything from the wok with a slotted spoon, before adding the cornstarch slurry to the juices in the pan. The sauce for the noodles was perfectly delish and not too sweet. I think it totally depends on which brand you choose for the sweet chili sauce, my sauce was sweet and spicy because I chose a sweet spicy (Asian) chili garlic sauce. The ketchup type American sweet chili sauce would be a huge mistake! I will make this again, using chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I made this dish and thought it was delicious. It's felt fresh because all the veggies but yet it was spicy from the sweet chili sauce. I also used fresh ginger because I think that adds a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Great! Added green pepper and shiracha chance since it wasn't spicy enough for me. Also threw an egg on top. Nice and sweet and flavorful! The cabbage and pork were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
We loved this recipe. I used rice flat noodles, since that is what my store had, and I am glad, because I prefer them over other asian noodles. (Rice flat noodles are what are used in dishes like Pad Thai) We had less sweet chili sauce than called for, so it was only used on the noodles. We topped our servings with siracha and yum! Absolutely loved it. Flavorful and simple and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. I added some diced up jalapenos because I had fresh ones from the garden. I found the recipe because I had a ton of napa cabbage and was thrilled with how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
These were really good! Only made the noodle (used thin spaghetti btw) and vegetables because we had chicken on the side. My daughter thought these were a bit sweet for a noodle dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was a really good simple flavorful dish that we will be making aften
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This turned out okay. I used slightly less chili sauce because of some reviews, but felt like it could have stood a little more heat. I forgot to thicken with the corn starch, which I think would have helped with the overall feel of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
bf really liked this.. i thought it was alright.. i think this was just a different flavor profile than what i normally like to make.. i'm not big into sweet but i wanted to try this out b/c i'm sometimes pleasantly surprised.. this wasn't bad.. i just wasn't overly impressed.. i'd give this a 3.5 if it was an option
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States