Sweet and Spicy Picante Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I've seen this recipe before, called "Texas Two-Step Chicken." I've made it many times, and my kids always love it. My suggestion is to place the chicken in a crock pot, mix the sauce ingredients, pour over the chicken and cook on low for 4-6 hours. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEEW17

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friona, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I made this last night exactly as the recipe instructed. It was very good. The sauce reminded me a bit of cocktail sauce but spicier and mixed well with the rice. The chicken was moist and flavorful. We will make this a regular dish in our house. I'll be curious to see what variations everyone comes up with. -Lil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is a favorite in our house - we often top with shredded cheddar for the last 10 minutes of baking time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
For many years I have made something similar to this with just putting boneless, skinless chicken breasts and a large bottle of Pace Picante sauce and putting it in the crock pot all day. The chicken is so tender it just falls apart. I aways serve it over rice or noodles. So easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
We love this chicken. Several years ago I saw this recipe on the back of a jar of picante sauce and I've been making it ever since. It is easy to make and tasty with rice or without. I served it to my sister and she asked for the recipe and she makes it often too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
So easy and ready in a jiff. I serve over wide noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe. Even my dh, who isn't fond of chicken, liked it. I used mild salsa and think next time I'll use at least half medium. The brown sugar off sets the pepper and it could have used a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very good! Followed recipe exactly. Used Splenda brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good...I cooked 350 for 1 hr as 400 for 20 minutes was not enough! And next time will do salsl hot alone with no sugar. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
OMG!!! This Chicken dish was very yummy.. The only thing I would say was wrong for me... umm... it was a little spicy for my tastes. But I ate it all anyways because it was super good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Brianna Debra Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States