Sweet and Spicy Picante Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I've seen this recipe before, called "Texas Two-Step Chicken." I've made it many times, and my kids always love it. My suggestion is to place the chicken in a crock pot, mix the sauce ingredients, pour over the chicken and cook on low for 4-6 hours. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEEW17

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friona, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I made this last night exactly as the recipe instructed. It was very good. The sauce reminded me a bit of cocktail sauce but spicier and mixed well with the rice. The chicken was moist and flavorful. We will make this a regular dish in our house. I'll be curious to see what variations everyone comes up with. -Lil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is a favorite in our house - we often top with shredded cheddar for the last 10 minutes of baking time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
We love this chicken. Several years ago I saw this recipe on the back of a jar of picante sauce and I've been making it ever since. It is easy to make and tasty with rice or without. I served it to my sister and she asked for the recipe and she makes it often too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
So easy and ready in a jiff. I serve over wide noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe. Even my dh, who isn't fond of chicken, liked it. I used mild salsa and think next time I'll use at least half medium. The brown sugar off sets the pepper and it could have used a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
For many years I have made something similar to this with just putting boneless, skinless chicken breasts and a large bottle of Pace Picante sauce and putting it in the crock pot all day. The chicken is so tender it just falls apart. I aways serve it over rice or noodles. So easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very good! Followed recipe exactly. Used Splenda brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good...I cooked 350 for 1 hr as 400 for 20 minutes was not enough! And next time will do salsl hot alone with no sugar. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
OMG!!! This Chicken dish was very yummy.. The only thing I would say was wrong for me... umm... it was a little spicy for my tastes. But I ate it all anyways because it was super good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Brianna Debra Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States