Sweet and Spicy Picante Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I made this last night exactly as the recipe instructed. It was very good. The sauce reminded me a bit of cocktail sauce but spicier and mixed well with the rice. The chicken was moist and flavorful. We will make this a regular dish in our house. I'll be curious to see what variations everyone comes up with. -Lil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
So easy and ready in a jiff. I serve over wide noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Quick, easy, and tasty. I made this with rice and mexicorn. It was delicious. My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trenise McGhee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
We love this chicken. Several years ago I saw this recipe on the back of a jar of picante sauce and I've been making it ever since. It is easy to make and tasty with rice or without. I served it to my sister and she asked for the recipe and she makes it often too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I got this recipe off the jar of picante sauce & made it according to directions. It was a big hit at dinner & will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I've seen this recipe before, called "Texas Two-Step Chicken." I've made it many times, and my kids always love it. My suggestion is to place the chicken in a crock pot, mix the sauce ingredients, pour over the chicken and cook on low for 4-6 hours. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEEW17

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friona, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
For many years I have made something similar to this with just putting boneless, skinless chicken breasts and a large bottle of Pace Picante sauce and putting it in the crock pot all day. The chicken is so tender it just falls apart. I aways serve it over rice or noodles. So easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
used a mild salsa 'cause i don't know what picante is nor could i find any. being a male, i don't ask for help. turned out very well. next time i'm going to top it with some chopped green onions and some shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I cooked this chicken for over an hour and it never got up to 180 degrees. I don't know what happened, but my fiance and I never got to eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
OMG!!! This Chicken dish was very yummy.. The only thing I would say was wrong for me... umm... it was a little spicy for my tastes. But I ate it all anyways because it was super good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Brianna Debra Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States