Sweet and Spicy Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I used cayenne instead of cumin , a little butter, and some honey.....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These are good if you follow the advice of the first review. Sugar just doesn't melt like that. I substituted cayenne for the curry because we don't like curry or keep it in the house. Its not a bad recipe you just need something to help out with melting the sugar otherwise it will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I wasn't quite sure about this recipe as I was making it, because the sugar seemed to get quite brown and clump, but I put a double batch out at my cocktail party last night and they were such a big hit that they're all gone! The flavour was so nice! One of my friends ate about a quarter of them alone and had fun trying to guess what all the spices in them were. I will definitely be making these again, though perhaps with some modifications so that the sugar glazes the nuts more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
i read the reviews and changed the recipe. i made this with some old pistachios. i cooked the nuts on a pan with a tbsp butter. then, i made the sauce with the spice measurements stated, but i used 1.5 tbsp water, and used splenda instead of the sugar. i also added about 6 light shakes of cayenne pepper (should have added more). then, stirred sauce on nuts, and baked at 350 for 10 min. they are pretty good. i liked the curry spice in it that some reviewers said was weird. just thought they were not spicy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Definitely follow the suggestions of the other reviewers and add a couple teaspoons of water to the sugar mix. I also changed the spices because I dislike cumin and I didn't think curry was the taste I was going for on these; follow your tastebuds. I roasted almonds, added them to the melted sugar/spice mix (with water added) and stirred until the nuts were well coated and there was no more glaze at the bottom of my pan. Then I threw them back in the oven (spread out well on parchment paper) for another 10 minutes until the glaze had set well. They didn't stick together and they are very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
These were a great addition to the appetizer assortment preceding a spicy low-country boil. A few changes made all the difference. I started with a can of salted mixed nuts and reduced the salt in the recipe. I added a small dollop of butter to the sugar recipe, and waited until the sugar began to melt before adding in nuts. Took time to separate and dry on waxed paper, without being too picky that every single nut was separated. Both kids and adults liked these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I tried this recipe and found, although the flavor was good, the sugar/spice mix did not coat the nuts. I found it disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvan Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Pawling, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
A complete waste of some great nuts. All the other negative reviews are right on the money. I honestly don't know how this came out good for other people. The nuts were a complete ruin; the flavor was weak and bitter. With no liquid or oils to spread the seasonings to all the nuts, the sugar burned almost immediately. Don't waste your time, nuts or money on this recipe. Find a good sugared nut recipe and just add some spice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I should have taken the time to check all of the reviews. I spent a small fortune buying good quality nuts and they turned into a complete burnt ruin. The spices turned bitter under the heat of the oven. Never again will I try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Two Thumbs DOWN! This was something I decided to try since I had some extra almonds and peanuts lying around. My boyfriend loves nuts so he was really anxious to try them. In the very beginning I thought the recipe sounded odd with no liquid - its virtually impossible to melt sugar without a liquid or a flamethrower! I attempted them anyway and I smelled the sugar burning. I hurried to the fridge to grab something fast and threw in a tablespoon of butter to loosen things up. What I ended up with was clumps of peanuts, almonds, and lots of little brown clumps that taste like burned sugar and curry. Horrific. Follow everyone elses advice and coat your nuts in egg whites first, then add some cayenne to the other spices. Forget about the clove - its overpowered by the cumin and curry. Better yet, just find a recipe for candied nuts and add some cayenne to the mix - it worked for me and my Christmas Pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FYRECRACKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States