Sweet and Spicy Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
I had to decrease the size of the origianl recipe so that may have something to do with it, but the meatloaf before baking was very "wet", I had to add additional crushed taco chips and then when the meatloaf was done, it was terrible. It tasted like taco chips, you couldn't even taste the meat anymore. Would not use recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
My hubby enjoyed this meatloaf with a definite kick. It may be a little too spicy for very little kids, but older kids and teens will love it! It puts a nice twist on an old favorite. It does turn out moist, not dry. I used a sweet bbq sauce and that was a good contrast. Will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A cook in Houston
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was really good. To keep the meat from getting to wet drain the tomatoes first. I used hot bar-b-que sauce because we like things very spicy. I made the meat into six 4x2 loaves instead of one big loaf, they cook in about 25-30 minutes and each person gets their own. Also I made a well in the top of each one and filled with a mixture of sour cream and picante sauce and then topped with cheese during the last 5 minutes of cooking. The people in my house gave it a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was very wet, even after I added additional bread crumbs. It fell apart when I was taking it out of the pan. The flavor could be good, but it needs to hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Because of the comments about the mixture being too wet, I cut back on the BBQ sauce, and partially drained the canned tomatoes. Apart from adding a little salt and pepper, I made it as written. The result was a very bland, crumbly loaf with an uneven, mushy texture. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very Good! A favorite! Too Wet but still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I love how simple your recipe is but I first seasoned the meat with some garlic ginger cumin cilantro and thyme and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is one of the best meat loaf recipes. Make sure you cook it for 90 mins. It will not be to wet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States