Sweet and Spicy Marinade for Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Green Jeanne
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I really liked this marinade as I needed a change, on the other hand my husband wasn't a huge fan of the sweet taste with steak. I guess it just depends on your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green Jeanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
this was okay, i didn't have as much flavor as i was expecting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holdrege, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Very tasty. Definitely needs to marinate overnight for best flavor, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I was skeptical of this recipe because I have never heard of marinading steak in vanilla extract, but I'm glad I went with it anyway because the end result was a nice change, and very yummy! After reading another reviewer's response I decided to marinade my steak with this recipe and my husband's with another marinade, but he did try mine and said it was good! I'll be using my leftovers for steak and eggs for breakfast tomorrow, thanks for the recipe :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feedinanarmy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I never do steaks at home because Husband likes them medium-rare, and I always manage to overcook them. But the store had sirloin on sale sooo cheaply this week, that I HAD to buy a couple. I was skeptical about this recipe, so I cut way back on the vanilla - just a tiny drop. I also marinated the meat for about 45 mins because I was worried they would take on too much flavor. They turned out great - just the right amount of sweet and heat. I'm not sure I will use the recipe again, but it was definitely nice for a change. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Excellent flavor and the steak is so very tender and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This is my recipe and I thought you all should know that the key to getting peak flavor in your steak (at least with this marinade) is to pierce the meat with a fork several times. This allows the marinade to seep in and obtain optimal flavor in a shorter period of time. I mentioned that in the original recipe but it got lost somewhere between submittal and posting. Thanks for trying it, though! I appreciate the feedback!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
It was okay. I was like the other reviewer that sweet and steak are not good together. This would be good on pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
We thought this was a great marinade... Hubby wished I made extra to baste onto our steaks while they were on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Excellent marinade. I used hickory smoke salt instead of liquid smoke because I didn't have any (so then skipped the salt), and I used fresh chopped garlic. Very nice flavor! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Steak Marinade

See how to make a super-simple, full-flavor marinade for grilled beef.

Make-Ahead Mamas

Join this group of busy moms as they get together to prepare make-ahead meals.

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States