Sweet and Spicy Grilled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I'm a month behind making this for recipe group but it would've tasted the same in June! lol. I loved this one. Sriracha and honey? You just can't go wrong. No marinating and still packing a punch? Even better! Warning though, it is somewhat spicy. We have a heat wimp in the house so we only basted one side of his shrimp and they were perfect for him and still had the flavour. I will be making this one again soon! Thank-you TheGoddessGiGi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Prepared this for the recipe group June 22, 2014...well, it doesn't get much easier than this! This was simple and delicious. I added a splash of mirin wine for a little acid in the mix. If you love sweet and spicy flavors, this is a great recipe for you! We loved this. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 14, June 2014 ~ I made these for my husband, well, I mixed up the sauce and my husband grilled his own shrimp. I used equal parts sriracha and honey. He said it was plenty warm, but he loved the taste on the shrimp. He gave the recipe a 5+ star rating, and my shrimp size a 3 rating! Being that I don't eat shrimp, I had no say in rating this recipe, but DH loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I made this for the weekly recipe group selection. I had two pounds of shrimp and the sauce amount was plenty. Since the recipe doesn't specify the kind of chili garlic sauce, I used our favorite Mae Ploy and added in a couple tablespoons of Sriracha sauce and I reduced the honey a bit since Mae Ploy is already pretty sweet. I tossed the shrimp with the marinade, reserving a small amount for basting and let the shrimp marinate for about an hour. Was very tasty shrimp and we all really enjoyed them. Served with Easy Asian Pasta salad from this site, a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I had planned to grill these but my grill was giving me problems, SO I changed plans and threw everything in a saute pan and just cooked it all up! Taste great, very yummy, and served over a brown rice pilaf :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Recipe Group Selection for June 14, 2014 – This was my first time using chile-garlic sauce and I have to say it carries a kick. I’m glad I lessened the amount of the chile-garlic sauce using only 1 tablespoon of garlic-chile sauce and 1/4 cup of honey. This was quick and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Made this for Recipe Group...Not sure how to rate this b/c I really didn't know what chili-garlic sauce was. Going by the other reviews, I decided to use sriracha sauce. I only used 1/2 of what the recipe called for (1/4 cup) w/ the full amount of honey and it was waaaay too spicy. I can't imagine using a whole 1/2 cup. I would think it would be inedible at that point. I ended up cutting the heat w/ some sweet chili sauce and that helped. The flavor was good, it was just too much heat...Did I use the wrong chili-garlic sauce???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
OMG! These were so easy and so delicious! I must admit, I did cut back on the chili-garlic sauce...I wasn't sure just how hot these would get. I threw everything into a ziploc bag and let it marinate for about a half hour. I threaded the shrimp onto the skewers and grilled - it doesn't get much easier than this. These were a perfect little appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is a simple recipe that packs a ton of flavor! I didn't feel like grilling so I cooked mine on the stove in the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sami Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I loved this!!!!! Sriracha sauce is one of my favorite sauces to use on everything and this was just as I hoped, very spicy and sweet. I marinated my shrimp in this and then grilled. The sauce carmelized on the shrimp while grilling. Just delicious and so very easy. I served these shrimp on a salad with some fresh avacado, heart of palm, chick peas, tomatoes, and greens. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States