Sweet and Spicy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This is sooo yummy!! I actually HATE fresh green beans but when I was given some by a friend I hated to throw them out & didn't want to disappoint her. This looked good but I didn't have my hopes too high. But I am so pleasantly surprised! A bit on the spicy side for some of my wienie friends but it doesn't linger in the mouth for long!! thank you so much for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Great recipe. Loved the flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
The chili sauce in this recipe is not the flavor of spiced-up ketchup or a bowl of chili. It's the ORIENTAL sauce in a jar: chili garlic sauce. I didn't have any, but it was still pretty good. Not spicy at all, but that's to be expected. I'll try this one again with all the ingredients. (WOW, I can add to this review weeks later! :D) Got the right ingredient - chili garlic sauce - & it is very good. This is one we'll use over & over. My three stars earlier is now four & a half. What the heck, I'll give it a five. This one's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
this recipe is easy and quick, yet tastes incredible. i also use it on asparagus tips nad it is just as good as with the beans. i have 1 variation and 1 suggestion. variation: i had no garlic chili sauce, so i substitute the sauce with equal portions if garlic powder and chili powder, and the difference is scarce, if any. suggestion: don't let most of the sauce evaporate, if you like having sauce, it's just something simple to add right before you serve or to serve as a gravy on the side that can be added to other menu items. the recipe makes plenty of liquid sauce that you don't have to cook the beans until it evaporates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This recipe is delicious! I make it at least once a week with any meal- not just asian themed cooking, and everyone always loves it. I was a little skeptical about how the chili sauce would taste on my beans but you can't even tell it's in there because the flavors meld so nicely with one another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
Great recipe! I make this almost every time I have green beans, I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I did not use the garlic chile sauce on this simply because I did not have it, instead I double the amount of ingredients and added a tiny bit of water. It wasn't necessarily sweet and sour. Although they were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Very good dish. Spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
o. m. g. i've tried several different recipes from this site for different things, ie- cookies, potato salad, pasta, etc. this is the first one that i absolutely LOVE. granted, i did substitute a lot of my own things. i didn't really measure things out, just did it by eye. but i used about a teaspoon of premade honey-garlic sauce (safeway brand!), added some fresh garlic (garlic is GOOD) to it, some soy sauce, & chili powder. i also added chopped vietnamese ham (cut relatively to the same length / width of beans). & in the end i thickened the sauce with corn starch. but wow, i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States