Sweet and Spicy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Yum. A lot like green beans I had at a Chinese Restaurant. Tasted even better the next day, when they had time to sit. Like others, I substituted garlic and chili sauce because it was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made this recipe using a bag of frozen green beans from Trader Joes - I didn't even defrost them, I just sauteed them a few minutes longer. I didn't have the chili sauce on hand so I used Sriracha and added an extra garlic clove. I like that you can easily adjust the heat and sweetness of this recipe by adding more hot sauce or honey. I served this as part of an asian style meal and it was a big hit, with the adults and the kids as well (I toned down the heat). I will definitely make this recipe again and would say that you could easily make this a main dish by adding chicken, shrimp, tofu, etc. The one thing that I did find is that it was ever so slightly salty to me so I would use a tad bit less soy sauce the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
In the last few years I have fallen in love with green beans. I am over the hill for this recipe! Green beans were plentiful in our garden this summer and this recipe will be at the top! I made it just as written. I'm not sure what could have caused the reviewer to think it was bitter.? I would have added a photo but before I knew it they were all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Cordingly Stout

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roundup, Montana, USA
Living In: Flemington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Best side dish recipe I've ever tried! I make these all the time, and every time I do, they are an absolute hit! Don't try and substitute the chili garlic sauce-it is the KEY ingredient in these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I am not a fan of green beans but I'd eat them all the time cooked like this. DELICIOUS! I omitted the garlic, used slightly less sriracha and slightly more honey so it wouldn't be too spicy for kids. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this tonight and it was a huge hit. I did reduce the amount of honey by half and used tamarin in lieu or soy sauce as we cook gluten-free. I will definitely be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Very good recipe and very easy. I added a few chopped mushroom stems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Love it! I don't like spicy but I had tried the spicy edamame at a sushi restaurant and couldn't get enough. So I made this recipe with edamame in place of the green beans and it was almost an exact match! Hubby even liked it and he shares my aversion to spicy foods. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is the perfect blend of sweet and spicy. I make this all the time and could skip the main course and eat these out of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These green beans have a similar taste to ones that I LOVE from an Asian restaurant in town. They are easy and quick, and use indredients I already had on hand. Also, if you have anyone who is not up for the (mild) spiciness of this dish, it is easy to simply scoop out some freshly steamed beans and serve them as is, or with some other preparation, before putting the beans in to stir-fry with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States