Sweet and Spicy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
In the last few years I have fallen in love with green beans. I am over the hill for this recipe! Green beans were plentiful in our garden this summer and this recipe will be at the top! I made it just as written. I'm not sure what could have caused the reviewer to think it was bitter.? I would have added a photo but before I knew it they were all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Stout

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roundup, Montana, USA
Living In: Flemington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Best side dish recipe I've ever tried! I make these all the time, and every time I do, they are an absolute hit! Don't try and substitute the chili garlic sauce-it is the KEY ingredient in these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I am not a fan of green beans but I'd eat them all the time cooked like this. DELICIOUS! I omitted the garlic, used slightly less sriracha and slightly more honey so it wouldn't be too spicy for kids. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this tonight and it was a huge hit. I did reduce the amount of honey by half and used tamarin in lieu or soy sauce as we cook gluten-free. I will definitely be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Very good recipe and very easy. I added a few chopped mushroom stems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Love it! I don't like spicy but I had tried the spicy edamame at a sushi restaurant and couldn't get enough. So I made this recipe with edamame in place of the green beans and it was almost an exact match! Hubby even liked it and he shares my aversion to spicy foods. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is the perfect blend of sweet and spicy. I make this all the time and could skip the main course and eat these out of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These green beans have a similar taste to ones that I LOVE from an Asian restaurant in town. They are easy and quick, and use indredients I already had on hand. Also, if you have anyone who is not up for the (mild) spiciness of this dish, it is easy to simply scoop out some freshly steamed beans and serve them as is, or with some other preparation, before putting the beans in to stir-fry with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Quick, easy, to die for. I didn't have garlic chili sauce, so I added a bit extra garlic and chili oil. Also, I always use Olive oil. I have made this recipe more times than I remember and the family always asks for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHUVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topsham, Maine, USA
Living In: Woolwich, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I accidentally defrosted 1/2 lb. of haricots verts and needed to use them quickly. This recipe did the trick and then some. My chili oil doesn't have garlic so I added extra fresh garlic. I couldn't get the lid off the honey jar so used blue agave for the sweetening. I only use olive oil. None of that seemed to detract from this recipe at all. Now I did have to cook the beans longer because they were rubbery when I followed the time guidelines, but that just gave the sauce more time to integrate with the beans. I'll make this with fresh beans next time and the time after that....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States