Sweet and Spicy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Quick, easy, to die for. I didn't have garlic chili sauce, so I added a bit extra garlic and chili oil. Also, I always use Olive oil. I have made this recipe more times than I remember and the family always asks for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHUVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topsham, Maine, USA
Living In: Woolwich, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I accidentally defrosted 1/2 lb. of haricots verts and needed to use them quickly. This recipe did the trick and then some. My chili oil doesn't have garlic so I added extra fresh garlic. I couldn't get the lid off the honey jar so used blue agave for the sweetening. I only use olive oil. None of that seemed to detract from this recipe at all. Now I did have to cook the beans longer because they were rubbery when I followed the time guidelines, but that just gave the sauce more time to integrate with the beans. I'll make this with fresh beans next time and the time after that....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaPizza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trabuco Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Fantastic! I used frozen instead of fresh green beans, sugar instead of honey, and sri racha instead of garlic chili sauce. Same diff! This is a very sneaky way to infuse some Asian flavor into a home-cooked meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennawattenbarger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I added corn starch to make the sauce in this dish a little bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
yumm! the powder is easily replaced with equal parts chili powder + garlic powder as others have commented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Meh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I don't cook much, but have been trying to be creative in cooking dinners for my boyfriend. This recipe was a total hit! I followed one of the other reviewer's advice and used chili powder and garlic powder because I didn't have 'Galric Chili sauce'. My green beans were great! A perfect kick to a boring green bean. Also-my beans smelled/tasted just like something you'd order from PF Changs! Delish. Thanks for submitting the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Yowza. These were awesome. My only sadness is that I didn't make more of them, such that I had leftovers. They were punchy, crisp, and deep with flavor. I didn't have fresh garlic so I used garlic powder, and I didn't bother with the steaming, but otherwise followed it exactly. Cannot wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Very Good. A little spicy but I have a heavy hand and it could have been the chili sauce I used. It's got a lot of flavor and my family really liked it. We will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States