Sweet and Spicy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This was pretty good. I was eyeballing the sauce and using a Mexican chili sauce instead of an Asian one, but it turned out great, and my friends really liked it! My only complaint is the amount of oil. I wonder if I could have pan-fried them with just cooking spray. Maybe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
It was ok and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is so good! I have been eating more and more fresh vegetables rather than just having them as a side dish with dinner. I thought the garlic chili sauce was just another ingredient to turn something hot & spicy. Boy, was I wrong, again! The seasoning ingredients, blended together were just so flavorful mixed in with the fresh green beans. This is a very special find here on allrecipes and one that will be enjoyed often. I'm anxious to try it with other vegetables such asparagus and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Excellent! I couldn't find garlic chili sauce so I used sweet chili sauce and added extra garlic. They were great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Yum. A lot like green beans I had at a Chinese Restaurant. Tasted even better the next day, when they had time to sit. Like others, I substituted garlic and chili sauce because it was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I made this recipe using a bag of frozen green beans from Trader Joes - I didn't even defrost them, I just sauteed them a few minutes longer. I didn't have the chili sauce on hand so I used Sriracha and added an extra garlic clove. I like that you can easily adjust the heat and sweetness of this recipe by adding more hot sauce or honey. I served this as part of an asian style meal and it was a big hit, with the adults and the kids as well (I toned down the heat). I will definitely make this recipe again and would say that you could easily make this a main dish by adding chicken, shrimp, tofu, etc. The one thing that I did find is that it was ever so slightly salty to me so I would use a tad bit less soy sauce the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
In the last few years I have fallen in love with green beans. I am over the hill for this recipe! Green beans were plentiful in our garden this summer and this recipe will be at the top! I made it just as written. I'm not sure what could have caused the reviewer to think it was bitter.? I would have added a photo but before I knew it they were all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Stout

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roundup, Montana, USA
Living In: Flemington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Best side dish recipe I've ever tried! I make these all the time, and every time I do, they are an absolute hit! Don't try and substitute the chili garlic sauce-it is the KEY ingredient in these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I am not a fan of green beans but I'd eat them all the time cooked like this. DELICIOUS! I omitted the garlic, used slightly less sriracha and slightly more honey so it wouldn't be too spicy for kids. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this tonight and it was a huge hit. I did reduce the amount of honey by half and used tamarin in lieu or soy sauce as we cook gluten-free. I will definitely be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States