Sweet and Spicy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I don't care for my green beans to be so firm, so I'll cook them longer next time. Also, instead of chili paste I used 3 fresh serranos. I think habanero peppers would also work very well if you prefer a lot of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llaunna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Yum! Not too overpowering, just right. I used two cloves of garlic and I didn't have garlic chili sauce so I used liberal amounts of sriracha instead. Threw the beans in the skillet and added tomatoes and mushrooms. Yummy over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Have made this many times. Sticky, spicy, tangy and fabulous! You can't mess this recipe up. You can over cook it or under cook it and it still tastes good. Even tastes good cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Wow, I don't think I've had better tasting green beans! I had already started making this when I realized I didn't have honey and so used agave, and was out of garlic chili sauce (dang!) so I subbed Patak's mild curry paste. It's the closest thing I had! I added some minced garlic to compensate and couldn't resist adding some fresh minced ginger that I happened to have. It may sound like I made a lot of changes but I think it's essentially pretty close in flavor to the recipe: sweet, spicy, garlicky. In any case, I can't wait to make this again. It was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
HUBS ATE ALL THE GREEN BEANS ON HIS PLATE BEFORE HE EVEN TOUCHED ANYTHING ELSE!!! All the while he "ummmm...yummm....best...beans...babe....ummmm"-ed!!!! No joke! And then the whole meal was proclaimed best meal ever. Simple meatloaf, cornbread and THESE AWESOME GREEN BEANS!!! Nuff said...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Yum! These are sweet and spicy and delicious all over. Next time I would steam my green beans a little longer because I like 'em soft and steamy and not quite as crunchy as they turned out. I added almonds because I'm a nut (in a good way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayt Krepcho

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
My husband isn't a real fan of fresh green beans (which I love). While we were eating this at dinner, he looked at me and said, "this is how to eat green beans!" Loved it and saved it. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
tasty and so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I thoiught these were great, love the Asian flair...would pair wonderfully w an Asian meal. I accidentally had some snow peas in my string beans and I thought the snow peas worked even better for this recipe. My family was mixed on this though bc they prefer "Country Green Beans" also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
my teen had 2 things of this before he even passed it to me and he don't like green beans that much. even my 3 year old loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States