Sweet and Spicy Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I really liked this sauce! Because I didn't want to buy yet another chili sauce, I used a combo of Sweet Chile Sauce and Sambal Oelek. I also used only half the salt. But I think it's really the vinegar/sugar method of cooking that makes the sauce so different from other sauces, so I hope that sets well with the author of this recipe. I served it last night with some potstickers and today with some chicken. I'll bet the reviewer who said it didn't thicken didn't wait to write the review because it really does thicken---a lot! Very yummy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made this sauce for sweet n sour chicken. Cubed chicken breast and when chicken was almost done I added the sauce and simmered for a couple of minutes. I did make a couple of changes to the sauce. I added just a tad bit less of the rice vinegar since vinegar is very strong and only used 1t. of salt. This came out great. Will be using this sauce for dipping egg rolls in a party that I am planning. Will be back to post my comments on what my guest think of this sauce. FYI also used it to dip chicken nuggets with the kids.....thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This is easy and delicious! Just the right balance of sweet, salty and spicy. Served with homemade veggie spring rolls. I could just eat it by the spoonful though! I added a tiny bit of cornstarch dissolved in water to thicken. I imagine it would be delicious on tofu, chicken, shrimp, pork, anything! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Super simple and delicious. It really zazzed up my frozen spring rolls for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This sauce is great and my husband loved it! Good with spring rolls. I used garlic salt instead of regular salt and red Tabasco pepper sauce instead of chili garlic sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lana_box

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Mill Creek, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Very similar to our restaurant here that we like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
i was looking for a recipe without ketchup or other tomato based sauce. this one was excellent. as did another reviewer i used white vinegar and sweet chili sauce only because thats what i had on hand. i wont be buying sweet and sour sauce again. this was easy and so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Very tasty; especially yummy with my egg rolls. I will definately make this sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I love this sauce with cold spring rolls, this and the spicy peanut sauce are the main reasons we make the spring rolls! Love it and you can use white or rice vinegar. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Sauce has a great flavor, but didn't thicken when I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hklinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Peanut Dipping Sauce

This simple, Asian-inspired dipping sauce is perfect for grilled meats and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States