Sweet and Spicy Curry with Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was a big hit for the whole family! We'll definitely be making this dish again, next time with more chickpeas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Loved this! Followed another reviewer's recipe for making their own sweet chili sauce (ketchup, sriracha, honey and soy), added more honey and sriracha to taste as it simmered as we like it spicy and used lite coconut milk. Also, did not wait until the end to add the salt, pepper and red pepper flakes (added halfway through). Served with wild rice and just loved it. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is a keeper! Yummm...makes my mouth hum. I followed other's tips. Made my own 1/2 c sweet chili sauce (ketchup, honey & Sriracha); used 2 cans garbanzo (1 might have been fine) and 1 cup lite coconut milk. Did it all in my electric skillet. Put over rice. Fast, delicious, one-of-a-kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljshrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Spicy, hot & delish. Mostly followed the ingredients but changed up some measurements. Used 1 lb. 99% fat-free ground turkey breasts; 10 oz. diced tomatoes w/ habanero peppers (only use habanero option if you want to spike the heat); lite coconut milk. Eliminated the sesame oil and sautéed turkey, onion & garlic in Better Than Bouillon, Chicken Base. These changes eliminated some fat making it an even healthier version, and it’s still great tasting. The recipe as written seems to have more turkey than necessary so you may want to decrease the amount or, if using the 2 lbs., at least up the garbanzo beans as others have suggested. Thank you Marcia for a fantastic recipe! UPDATE: This has become a repeat winner for us. I now add 1 cup of jumbo mixed raisins when stirring in the garbanzo beans. If you prefer firmer raisins, add during last 5 minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Super easy, quick and tasty! Nice spice amount. I didn't have sweet chili sauce, so I improvised with just under 1/2 cup ketchup, approx. 1 Tbs. honey, 1 Tbs. sriracha and 1 Tbs soy sauce (I guestimated).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
wow! THIS IS DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
A hit at my dinner party! I used 2 cans of garbanzo beans and a whole can of lite coconut milk with a 20 oz. package of ground turkey. Everyone raved about how sweet/spicy it was (I was pretty liberal with the red chili flakes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inskydiamonds
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was a delicious recipe. I served it over curried sweet potatoes. The flavors of the two dishes melded together wonderfully. The only change I made was that instead of the sweet chili sauce, I used garlic chili sauce (and much less of it). The meal was great the first day, but even better as leftovers as the flavors had more time to meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inskydiamonds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
WOW I'm so impressed! I would order this in a restaurant and can't believe that now I can actually MAKE it! Thanks for a wonderful add to my recipe box. All I did different was add 2 diced peppers- always trying to sneak in extra veggies. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States