Sweet and Spicy Curry with Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Soooo good . Spicy, flavourful, and delicious. My husband is not a big fan of curry so this was not that great to him but I thought it was excellent .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Used 2.5 cups leftover Thanksgiving turkey, finely shredded; was lucky to find sweet chili sauce at Krogers. Added about 2/3 cup raisins, increased coconut milk to 2/3 cup, and used the rest in the rice. Served with mango chutney. It was a lively and interesting dish, and a great way to use up leftover turkey. Very tasty. Will I make it again? Probably not. Too many other recipes to try, but I do highly recommend trying this. It may turn out to be one your favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Awesome recipe but I did make lots of changes as follows: 0) used bacon grease to cook up onion 1) did not use turkey - didn't have 2) used a whole can of coconut milk plus at least one cup of chicken broth 3) threw in 1 cup rice and cooked it in sauce 4) did not use chili sauce - didn't have 5) added peas at end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Fairly easy and fast to make for a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
My husband loved it more than me... but I did modify slightly. I did not have an onion so I used granulated onion. I also used a suggestion for homemade sweet chili sauce and made mine with ketchup, soy sauce, sriracha, and sugar. I also used almond milk since I didn't have any coconut milk - this was surprisingly effective! :) All in all it was pretty good. We had a jar of mango ginger chutney from Trader Joe's that my husband used on top of the curry to enhance the flavor even more. This is a good base recipe. I will try it again and make some more modifications. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dothemooshoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna-Bat
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Followed the recipe except only used 1 lb of turkey and added a little bit of cumin. Flavor profile was alright, but seemed to be lacking something, and wasn't as complex as other curries I've made from this site. It did come together quickly, which is nice for a weeknight dinner, and worked well over rice, as it was a bit soupy. Tasted better the next day and even the day after that - I guess a couple of days let the flavors marinade awhile, and I thought it was better than fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Even after reading the good reviews, I was skeptical about this recipe as it looked a bit of an odd combination. Anyway, it turned out delicious - the whole family devoured it. It was easy to make too. I added some chopped fresh red pepper and served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Really delicious and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Great recipe !! I changed the canned tomatoes for real ones, added curry paste instead of plain powder, and added cubes of tofu instead of the meat. It was really great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Renaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I just made this, did not change a thing. OMG this is awesome! I absolutely love the flavors. 8 points on WW but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States