Sweet and Spicy Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Excellent! I used cut up chicken pieces rather than a whole chicken and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
I don't know what it was. Was it the unenthusiastic response from Husbot over the use of jelly on the meat? Was it that all the glaze and melted butter ended up on the bottom of the pan and not much stayed on the chicken? We really don't eat the chicken skin anyway, although Husbot tried it. He said it was nothing to write home about. He also said that we could bake a chicken without the jelly or the butter and it would taste the same. Also, I don't think I cooked it long enough, although I left it in longer than the recipe stated. We used the meat part of the chicken (as opposed to the skin part) for quesadillas a couple of nights later, and that was good. Maybe this would be a good recipe for people who eat the skin?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
this was great, but i changed up how i cooked it. instead of a whole chicken, i used cut-up chicken breast and cooked it in a skillet. when it was done i then put the jelly and butter in, but i only used a little more than half a cup of butter,i let it boil down in the skillet until the meat had a glossy finish on it,and then served it over asian style (stir fry) veggies, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andyscandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I just canned some homade pepper jelly last week, and then found this recipe. I whipped up some more jelly just for this recipe. Thanks, I wasn't sure how it would taste, but it was great. And to the reviewer having problems.Its a basting thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Great and easy just how I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willmar, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Quick and so easy I changed it a little... I used chicken tenders (breast) that were skinned & boneless. I put them in a pampered chef baker and poured jelly over chicken and cubed butter. Covered and baked for an hour 1/2. Took cover off to brown for the last 10 minutes or so. My family loved it! Tender and the sauce cooked right into the meat! Yummy thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pb&j

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
For some reason, I thought this would taste more spicy and better than it did. My husband and I liked it very much and I have written on the recipe that next time I make your recipe that I will double the sauce. I'd like to thank you for posting this recipe. It tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Family was not a fan. Too sweet, was expecting a little bite. Cook time seemed insufficient as well. Followed recipe as written. Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
Very Good. Did it with leg only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States