Sweet and Spicy Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Great recipe! I cut up my whole bird so I could take some in my lunch box. Did not use 1 cup butter to 1/2 cup Pepper jelly but used 1 to 1 ratio, seemed like too much butter to me. Turned out perfect!! Used some our homemade Blackberry & Jalapeno jelly, will definitely use this recipe again. Dan, Canby OR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
real good idea, but it just didn't produce the results I thought I would get. The butter and jelly did nothing for the chicken or the skin, they did look pretty (I baked 2) I even saved the drippings from the pan and thought that would have some flavor, but not. Won't waste my jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This recipe calls for more butter and jelly than are really necessary. The cooking time is also off a bit. My chicken was almost exactly 4 lbs, but took an extra half hour (at least) to test done. The resulting chicken was tasty, but I don't know that I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Of course it was a bit messy but that's half the fun! We loved it. I did cut out the butter. My hot pepper jelly is thick and I think it sticks to the chicken a bit better (that did help with the mess later). I also cook it on a boiler rack in the oven so the mess drips into the water. I saved some jelly to recoat with about 10-15 min of cook time left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Matthew and I loved this recipe. I sustituted a mango chutney from India for the jelly and Smart Balance for butter. Yum. We also a California oaked chardonnay with it and it was excellent. Definetly going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Simple and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
this was great, but i changed up how i cooked it. instead of a whole chicken, i used cut-up chicken breast and cooked it in a skillet. when it was done i then put the jelly and butter in, but i only used a little more than half a cup of butter,i let it boil down in the skillet until the meat had a glossy finish on it,and then served it over asian style (stir fry) veggies, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andyscandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I loved it! I had to change a few things but it turned out delicious! I Used 4 Thighs and breasts with skin on and when i melted the jelly and butter I reduced it down a little by letting it simmer for 5 minutes before basting. I also put alluminium foil down to make clean up easier- I don't know if that added to the crisp skin. All and all great! Thank!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Quick and so easy I changed it a little... I used chicken tenders (breast) that were skinned & boneless. I put them in a pampered chef baker and poured jelly over chicken and cubed butter. Covered and baked for an hour 1/2. Took cover off to brown for the last 10 minutes or so. My family loved it! Tender and the sauce cooked right into the meat! Yummy thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pb&j

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States