Sweet and Spicy Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Great recipe! I cut up my whole bird so I could take some in my lunch box. Did not use 1 cup butter to 1/2 cup Pepper jelly but used 1 to 1 ratio, seemed like too much butter to me. Turned out perfect!! Used some our homemade Blackberry & Jalapeno jelly, will definitely use this recipe again. Dan, Canby OR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
real good idea, but it just didn't produce the results I thought I would get. The butter and jelly did nothing for the chicken or the skin, they did look pretty (I baked 2) I even saved the drippings from the pan and thought that would have some flavor, but not. Won't waste my jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This recipe calls for more butter and jelly than are really necessary. The cooking time is also off a bit. My chicken was almost exactly 4 lbs, but took an extra half hour (at least) to test done. The resulting chicken was tasty, but I don't know that I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Of course it was a bit messy but that's half the fun! We loved it. I did cut out the butter. My hot pepper jelly is thick and I think it sticks to the chicken a bit better (that did help with the mess later). I also cook it on a boiler rack in the oven so the mess drips into the water. I saved some jelly to recoat with about 10-15 min of cook time left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Matthew and I loved this recipe. I sustituted a mango chutney from India for the jelly and Smart Balance for butter. Yum. We also a California oaked chardonnay with it and it was excellent. Definetly going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Simple and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
this was great, but i changed up how i cooked it. instead of a whole chicken, i used cut-up chicken breast and cooked it in a skillet. when it was done i then put the jelly and butter in, but i only used a little more than half a cup of butter,i let it boil down in the skillet until the meat had a glossy finish on it,and then served it over asian style (stir fry) veggies, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andyscandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I loved it! I had to change a few things but it turned out delicious! I Used 4 Thighs and breasts with skin on and when i melted the jelly and butter I reduced it down a little by letting it simmer for 5 minutes before basting. I also put alluminium foil down to make clean up easier- I don't know if that added to the crisp skin. All and all great! Thank!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Quick and so easy I changed it a little... I used chicken tenders (breast) that were skinned & boneless. I put them in a pampered chef baker and poured jelly over chicken and cubed butter. Covered and baked for an hour 1/2. Took cover off to brown for the last 10 minutes or so. My family loved it! Tender and the sauce cooked right into the meat! Yummy thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pb&j

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States