Sweet and Sour Zucchini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
AWESOME!! Going to add some sharp cheese to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is a keeper recipe for sure! I added dry ramen noodles broken up in it. Let them soak up some of the liquid before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Loved this recipe! My husband hates zucchini, but took seconds. I used a yellow bell pepper instead of green since it's a little sweeter, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is my go to recipe when zucchini is in season, but after adopting a healthier lifestyle I made a few switches to reduce the fat and calories. I used 1/2c of fat-free Italian dressing instead of the oil, cider vinegar, salt and pepper. Replaced the sugar with no calorie sweetener and used a whole red bell pepper. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Wonderful side dish!! I made the homemade dry oniion soup mix from this site instead of the packaged kind, sliced the zucchini into bite size pieces and used a red bell pepper as that is what I had on hand. I let this sit in the fridge overnight, occasionally stirring ( and tasting...yum ). Everyone loved this and there were no leftovers. Thank you for sharing a delicious different way to use zucchini, CHRISTYJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
10-17-11: This was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I really loved the flavor of this. As others have noted, it is a lot of dressing, so I was able to add other vegetables later. Instead of green pepper, I used yellow and red ones. Instead of celery, I used asparagus. My only real reason for giving it a 4 instead of a 5 is the appearance. It looks fine when first prepared. But after sitting in fridge, the onion soup mix/dressing kind of coagulates, causing the bits of onion to stick to the side of the bowl, and look like things growing on the vegetables. But if you can get past this, it really is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This is yummy. Even my husband who doesn't like zucchini said "I can eat zucchini this way." The dressing is the star and zucchini's inherent blandness lets it take center stage. I used Splenda to cut the calories and it was fine that way. I left out the cider vinegar because when I made it, I tasted it and the vinegar taste was strong. However, that does mellow as it sits. May try it with next time. Definitely want to let this sit before serving. Dressing is too strong on the vinegar if you make and serve immediately. Didn't know how 7 small zucchini measured up to the huge ones from my garden. I used 3 lbs but could easily have done 4 lbs. Added half a red onion because I had it. Really could add any crunchy veggie you want such as broccoli or carrots. There is plenty of dressing to accommodate more veggies. Just depends on how many servings you want to get from it. With 3 lbs. of zucchini and the onion, I did get 7 servings. More veggies would have bumped that up to probably 10. A great way to use up the summer zucchini crop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
What a great dish. I did use splenda, 1/2 cup and I didn't have cider vinegar so i used red wine vinegar. The FIRST day we had it I only had time for it to marinade 5 hours. Company loved it. It was a perfect mix of vinegar and onions. Day 2, I added more zucchini and took it to a pool party. Rave reviews again. Unfortunately, not as oniony today Day 3, I have thrown in cauliflower and peppers. I will be so sorry when it is gone. Tomorrow will be our last meal of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Just made minutes ago with only zucchini because that is all I have at midnight, and although I agree that it needs to marinate, but this dressing is AMAZING!! Of course it's a vinegar based dressing, LOVE IT! Onlly added 1/2 c sugar figuring I can add more after it sits overnight if I want, but for now I'm already wondering what else I can use this dressing on. Yes I was skeptical w the onion soup, but genius! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States