Sweet and Sour Zucchini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
After baking 689 loaves of zucchini bread, I STILL have zucchini I don't know what to do with! This recipe came out phenomenal. I threw in just about every veggie I could find in my frige-cherry tomatoes cut in half, red onion, cucumber, broccoli, sliced olives, even a can of garbanzo beans! Just make sure you don't over do the vinegar (I only used the 1/2 cup white vinegar, not the cider vinegar). I have also made this succulent salad with rice wine vinegar, brown sugar, and a dash of soy sauce for a more Asian approach. It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This salad was a little too vinegary for us. I think if I make it again I will use 1/2 vinegar and 1/2 water. Also the onion soup was a little strange. I think I would like it better with fresh onion. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Thought the soup mix would be a little weird - but it's really yummy! I added scallions and left out the celery, but followed everything else exactly! My 11 yr old daughter ate a bowlful and my zucchini-hating husband even liked it! Am going to make to bring to a picnic this weekend, only I'm going to play a little and add garlic and some crushed red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sand Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
We thought this was okay. The vinegar was a little overwhelming for us. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This is a GREAT salad. Using SPLENDA instead of sugar allowed me to serve this to a diabetic friend and it was a hit!! A few other changes - Red wine vinegar instead of white wine, and I added yellow sweet peppers for color and about 1/2 sliced Vidalia onion. This is a definite keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
best recipe I have tried in ages. so different. Loved it. It's a keeper !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I loved this! Even my husband who doesn't eat zucchini ate this. I modified slightly by substituting rice vinegar for 1/2 the white wine vinegar. Also used red peppers instead of green. Note: you should probably double this recipe since it will go FAST....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zestychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I thought the onion soup mix would be gross, but you could barely taste it. I didn't have white wine vinegar so I used red wine vinegar and was still very good. Made two batches and it disappeared!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
a friend made this salad for a zucchini dinner party. it's FABULOUS! tangy and sweet. it's our new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
This is a great alternative to a lettuce salad. Surprisingly, it has a very similar flavor to three bean salad. I followed the directions precisely and also let it marinate overnight. Next time, I will use red bell pepper instead of green for a slight taste variation and more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States