Sweet and Sour Zucchini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This is yummy. Even my husband who doesn't like zucchini said "I can eat zucchini this way." The dressing is the star and zucchini's inherent blandness lets it take center stage. I used Splenda to cut the calories and it was fine that way. I left out the cider vinegar because when I made it, I tasted it and the vinegar taste was strong. However, that does mellow as it sits. May try it with next time. Definitely want to let this sit before serving. Dressing is too strong on the vinegar if you make and serve immediately. Didn't know how 7 small zucchini measured up to the huge ones from my garden. I used 3 lbs but could easily have done 4 lbs. Added half a red onion because I had it. Really could add any crunchy veggie you want such as broccoli or carrots. There is plenty of dressing to accommodate more veggies. Just depends on how many servings you want to get from it. With 3 lbs. of zucchini and the onion, I did get 7 servings. More veggies would have bumped that up to probably 10. A great way to use up the summer zucchini crop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
What a great dish. I did use splenda, 1/2 cup and I didn't have cider vinegar so i used red wine vinegar. The FIRST day we had it I only had time for it to marinade 5 hours. Company loved it. It was a perfect mix of vinegar and onions. Day 2, I added more zucchini and took it to a pool party. Rave reviews again. Unfortunately, not as oniony today Day 3, I have thrown in cauliflower and peppers. I will be so sorry when it is gone. Tomorrow will be our last meal of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Just made minutes ago with only zucchini because that is all I have at midnight, and although I agree that it needs to marinate, but this dressing is AMAZING!! Of course it's a vinegar based dressing, LOVE IT! Onlly added 1/2 c sugar figuring I can add more after it sits overnight if I want, but for now I'm already wondering what else I can use this dressing on. Yes I was skeptical w the onion soup, but genius! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was excellent, wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda Novotny-Metott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Really enjoyed the fresh flavor! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPierce
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
changed the oil to canola oil, took out the salt and apple cider vinegar added sweet onions and yellow bell pepper. chopped the zucchini into cubes. Make sure to chill overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPierce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I made this for a summer potluck, and it was the most interesting thing on the table. Hard to believe, but the onion soup gave it such a great flavor. You MUST make it a day ahead in order for the flavors to marry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I substituted red wine vinegar for both the vinegars that the recipe called for, julienned the zucchini and refrigerated overnight. Made it to bring to a friends BBQ at her beach house-everyone loved it! Next time I make it I will use a red or orange pepper for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Refrigerate overnight for best flavors. Also, 1/2 onion mix would cut down on overall salt intake, and less vinegar would be my suggestion. Too salty, too tart. But, the real test is the folks I served it to; THEY LOVED IT! So, the 4 stars is my taste; 5 would be the eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
A great dish for a potluck. We didn't have any white wine vinegar, so we substituted rice vinegar instead and the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States