Sweet and Sour Turkey Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Poblano
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I think this is a great meal for kids but as for adults it should be served as an hors d'oeuvre not as a main. I removed the vegetable oil like others recommended and agree that it's not needed. I added one habanero pepper, which gave it some nice heat and toned down the sweetness. It's an interesting idea that introduced me to sweet & sour sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This was a good recipe to use as a starting point. After reading the other comments, I left out the oil. Maybe the oil was so the sauce would stick better to the meat? I used a cup of rolled oats instead of bread crumbs and balsamic vinegar. Those were because I didn't have the listed ingredients. I did these as meat balls. I had to make them big to fit in the pan. Next time, I will use two pans to have room for 1 inch meatballs. Ketchup and mustard were just a squirt each so maybe 1T each and 2T of Worchester sauce, just because we like it . I will increase the sauce by 20% next time to have a little more for pouring on the rice. I used unpolished Jasmine rice with good results. The times listed worked perfectly! My wife liked it a lot, wants it again so it worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by globalbella
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was simple to make and even easier to eat! I substituted BBQ sauce for ketchup and didn't use any oil. Bake the meatballs 25 minutes the second time, they don't need the 45 since they're smaller than patties. Served over a bed of white rice like others suggested... this was so tasty, I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
At first I was kinda skeptical about this recipe but I went ahead and tried it. I must say this was DELICIOUS my kids loved it so much that my daughter requested to take to lunch the next day. The only thing I didn't add was the oil but other then that it was awesome and next time I will try with bacon and bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I absolutely loved this! I did do some things different. I didn't have an onion on hand, so I used onion powder. I had regular syrup not maple, so I used regular. I also did not use the oil or salt, and I added cornstarch to thicken the sauce! It came out delicious! My husband and my kiddies loooooved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
We LOVE it! they are sooo yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Delicious! I followed the recipe mostly, but decided to make large meatballs out of it. I used 2.5 lb. lean ground turkey, 1 1/4 cups bread crumbs, 1 large diced onion, 3 eggs, and added about 1/4 cup milk to the mixture. Seasoned with salt and pepper. I doubled all the sauce ingredients, completely omitting the oil. I made 1/4 cup size meatballs and placed them into two greased 9 x 13 dishes, divided the sauce and covered with aluminum foil. Baked at 350 for 30 minutes covered and 20 minutes uncovered. So delicious and moist, leftovers were delicious for days and we even had some to freeze. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I made this recipe tonight for dinner. I used some of the tips from other reviews. (I made meatballs like someone suggested). I made my own changes as well: I used Jennie - O brand Italian seasoned ground turkey. I seasoned the turkey meat with parsley flakes, cracked black pepper, no salt & a pinch of red pepper flakes. For the sauce: I used apple cider vinegar (instead of white vinegar) & I used 1/2 a tbsp of light tasting extra virgin olive oil. I served it with mac n' cheese & corn. Delicious! Next time I would not grease the baking dish, Maybe make a slurry with tbsp of flour or cornstarch to thicken the sauce. Definitely use less bread crumbs. Those will be the only changes I would make. Great recipe and wonderfully creative use of ground turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sun1182

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hercules, California, USA
Living In: San Pablo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Very easy recipe that changed our whole family's opinion about ground turkey. Not anything gourmet but a great weeknight dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States