Sweet and Sour Tofu Veggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
Really can't review on the kid's friendly rating as have not tried it on the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
My tofu didn't turn out very well. I think I might try making it again with tofu that has been frozen first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
The sauce tastes really good. The pinapple juice and syrup were an interesting twist. After this meal, I'm not a bit tofu fan because I mistakenly used the "extra firm" tofu. I pretty much turned this meal into a stir fry using spicy stir fry sauce. I can't resist when I have soy sauce out and that many vegtables in the pan. Can wait to use some flank steak, or a big tube steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Great recipe! I marinated the tofu in the pineapple juice, ginger and tamari for about an hour, then drained off the marinade to mix with the other sauce ingredients. I also stir-fried the tofu for a few minutes in a separate skillet before adding it in with everything else, to give it a firmer texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This recipe has very well written directions, and the colors are very pretty, but unfortunately I found the finished dish disappointing. To me the flavor was bland, and there was no hint of sweet or sour to it. The only distinguishible flavor was the sesame oil, which I would leave out if I made it again. I chose to omit mushrooms, and did add a can (11 oz.) of mandarin oranges. I used kuzu (kudzu) powder instead of arrowroot, and my sauce did not thicken - probably my fault. If you don't have arrowroot I would recommend going back to cornstarch. I also chose to use Jasmine rice instead of brown. I would also recommend cooking the green beans & carrots briefly in the microwave to cut down on cooking time - mine was way longer than 3-5 minutes. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
My husband and I agreed that it tastes as good as a restaurant's. I stirfried the tofu a bit before mixing it with the other ingredients. I did not use veg oil. Instead, I used sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I liked this, but my non-vegetarian husband did not. My vegetarian kids thought it was ok, but they refused to eat the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigerlily
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This dish was very easy and flavorful. I thought the sweet and sour came through beautifully, and is a nice flavor for adults and children. I doubled the sauce portion, simply because we are sauce people. The only change I made to the recipe ingredients wise was to use Bragg's Aminos instead of soy sauce. You really could use any veg you want for the stir fry since the sauce is what really makes the dish. Lastly, mine thickened up perfectly using the arrowroot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Very good. I left out the mushrooms, beans, and zucchini for a more Chinese restaurant feel. Leaving these out also yielded more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I made this recipe mostly as written, even though I knew I would be the only one eating it. I figured that if it was good, I could freeze the veggies in small portions for an easy meal later. That did not happen! I ate this everyday for 3-4 days until it was completely gone! I will absolutely make this again! The changes I made were: I only used 1/2 lb of tofu, and I marinated it a while in some of the sauce before cooking it; I used Braggs liquid aminos in place of tamair, cornstarch in place of arrowroot (I just didn't have it), and powdered ginger instead of fresh; I used only the veggies that I had on hand - green peppers, mushrooms, zucchini, and carrots; I cooked the veggies for longer than 3-5 minutes, just to suit my taste. Now, if only I could get the rest of my family to love veggies as much as I do... !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States