Sweet and Sour Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I have made this a couple of times! My whole family loves it! I don't add the pepper, because I have kids that don't do spice! I do add about 8oz of sweet and sour sauce but I also add extra sausage, I don't like green bell pepper so I use red, orange, and yellow! I've even used the left over on sandwiches for my husband the next day! (French rolls)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Just follow the recipe and everyone will enjoy this, the only thing I done different was I used a whole bottle of sweet & sour sauce and added an extra pepper, served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatumup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Did what another suggested for homemade sweet and sour sauce: Combine 1/3 c. rice vinegar, 4 Tbsp brown sugar, 1 Tbsp ketchup, and 1 tsp soy sauce in small saucepan and bring to boil. Mix 2 tsp cornstarch with 4 teaspoons water and stir into boiling sauce mixture to thicken. Makes 1/2 cup sauce we added pinapple chunks twards the end of the veggies simmering alone. Its so good and i like the smoky flavor the sausage gives it. served it on a bed of steamed rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I've tried the recipe twice already - once straight "from the stabble yard cat" and another with a twist. They both came out alright, although I must say that I prefer it the original fashion; the problem being those who've tasted them both and voted for my version -go figure! Anyway, pretty good all in all. As for the twist, I added crumbles of "alheira" - a Portuguese smoked sausage - in the end and used my own, home made, Chinese plump sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rovervol
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I don't think I would have even tasted 2 Tablespoons of sweet and sour sauce; I added the entire 10oz jar and it came out perfect for me. I didn't add any hot spice because I used a cajun-spiced smoked sausage. Really easy to make. Just my style of cooking. I disagree with this fat content rating. Is it the sweet and sour? Other similar recipes here using smoked sausage have less than half the fat of this. As an aside, I took a taste of this before adding the s&s - delicious on it's own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Unionville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This turned out really yummy! I did do a few things different though. 1. I left out the butter. 2. I added more sweet and sour sauce then the recipe called for. I used a 10 oz jar of La Choy. 3. I added a can of drained pineapple. 4. I put it all in the crock pot on low for 8 hours. The sauce was a bit on the thin side so I ladled some of it into a measuring cup and then whisked in 5 tablespoons of flour. I then added the thickened sauce back to the crock pot. I served this with instant brown rice and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRYSTALRAINSMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Hazel Green, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My family loved this! Instead of purchased sweet and sour sauce, I cooked my own using a recipe from this website. I added additional bell pepper and onion and it still wasn't enough. In addition, I added a large can of pineapple tidbits. Served it over rice...delicious! (Don't be afraid to add other veggies-I wished I had had carrots.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
My husband and I really liked it but my 6 and 3 year old did not. O well...I tried. The pineapple made the dish great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Really enjoyed this and My Husband loved it. I did double the sweet and sour sauce. The whole key, as others had suggested is adding a can of diced pineapples with the juice. It adds a little bit of extra sweetness and provides more liquid for serving over rice. Quick, Easy and Tasty. Thank You for Sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Everyone liked this, would probably make again. It was an easy weeknight meal. I used a dash or 2 of cajun seasoning instead of cayenne and hot sauce. Also, had a few raw shrimp I cooked in pan with sauce after removing sausage/veg. No need for salt in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States