Sweet and Sour Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I was very worried about the "no oil" in this recipe. I was very tempted to put some in. I am sooooo glad I didn't.My 4 young children and my somewhat picky husband (though you wouldn't be able to tell by looking at him)loved this dressing. I used my own regular coleslaw ingredients, and just used the dressing though, sorry for those of you that don't like the reviews on a changed recipe. Can't wait to eat the rest for lunch, yummo! Resist the temptation to add the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Dermott Boker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I had my Mom and Dad and brother over for a family dinner. Served this along with baked Red Snapper and beans and greens (from this site) It was a major hit they took seconds and thirds and asked for some to take home and wanted the recipie. Only change I substituted 1/4 head of red cabbage for 1/4 of the green cabbage to add additional color. Be sure to keep very cold to preserve crispness. I did a ice bath by setting glass bowl in large stainless steel mixing bowl half filled with ice and tossed occassionally. Kept it perfect over a prolonged dinner. I think we have seen the last of the mayo based coleslaw at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this to accompany the seared ahi that I had planned for dinner. We all thought it was great. I made no alterations to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Hickson Haliotis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Nothing spectacular--but edible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was a nice alternative to creamy coleslaw, but I recommend letting it marinate for several hours to soften the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This is the recipe that my family calls "freezer slaw". We make it and put it in plastic freezer containers. Tastes just as good months later. Just take it out of the freezer, thaw and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undertakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cullman, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
We eat a lot of cole slaw and a lot of different kinds, and this was really average. I was serving a mayo-based pasta salad and didn't want too much fat so tried this. My husband said "This wasn't my favorite slaw," didn't eat seconds, and didn't eat leftovers, which is rare. I thought it was okay but not great and ate it for days afterward to get rid of it. It got hotter the longer it sat (probably the mustard).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I loved this slaw! I have never had slaw that wasn't creamy until now. I will make this over and over! I forgot to buy pimiento at the store, but the salad was still fantastic! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe was a big hit at a recent dinner party where I cooked all German food. I didn't have any pimento, but I don't think that made any difference. The dressing was light and I liked that it didn't have any oil. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
REALLY liked this one. Although I'm normally a fan of creamy cole slaw, the flavor of this sauce is a nice change from the norm. It's just the right consistency, so it coats the slaw with a nice sweet and sour flavor, but isn't overpowering. Very quick prep with a 16 oz bag of packaged, shredded cole slaw. Definitely will be eating this regularly. I prefer to use angel hair slaw (the thinner the better). Chill slaw and dressing separately, and mix together just a little while before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States