Sweet and Sour Sicilian Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was reallllllllyyyy good! Even just the basic recipe it's good. I threw in a little bit of garlic and some marjoram into the mix and that made it extra flavorful. I would imagine that you add just about any herb and it would not spoil it. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This was a great meal. I made it with salmon instead, due to the lesser cost of salmon, and I only used 3 steaks. I'll make it again. Next time I will serve this dish with Roquefort Pear Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This is so good. I only had 3/4 cup red wine vinegar on hand, so used 1/4 cup regular white vinegar and it was still great. Next time I will carmelize two onions instead of just one. The onions were the best part and we all were fighting over the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very good. It is the perfect weeknight recipe. Quick,tasty and one frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
made this last night super easy and good may try it on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is a delicious dish! Word to the wise--you cannot divide it! I tried and it was an utter failure. Even if you're making one tuna steak, you must follow the full liquid measurement. The first time I got sweet and sour candied onions and tuna. Had to chip it off my plate. LOL! The second... success! The most difficult thing about this recipe is mustering the patience to caramelize the onions. Don't rush! Take your time; do it right. It makes all the difference. That, and withstanding the pungent aroma of the red wine vinegar as you complete the recipe. I paired mine with steamed spinach. I was raised with spinach and vinegar (instead of butter, salt, etc.), so pouring a little sauce over my spinach was all I needed. With that, it is a bit of a pungent overload, so you might want to have a nice, mellow starch in addition. Simple rice pilaf might do the trick. I'm so NOT a cook, but I think I pulled this off with aplomb (the second time). Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
GREAT....the preparation was very easy and results excellent! My husband is very picky and he really enjoyed this dinner. Paired it with roquefort pear salad and grilled asparagus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
really great !but the fish better be fresh i mean just caught! this goes good with other fish too! i like more onions too iv even done it with white wine and a little balsamic for color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Fantastic! I will make often for my fish dishes - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Very good! We added more onion per the other reviews. I think next time I'll try a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States