Sweet and Sour Sicilian Tuna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This was a great meal. I made it with salmon instead, due to the lesser cost of salmon, and I only used 3 steaks. I'll make it again. Next time I will serve this dish with Roquefort Pear Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This is so good. I only had 3/4 cup red wine vinegar on hand, so used 1/4 cup regular white vinegar and it was still great. Next time I will carmelize two onions instead of just one. The onions were the best part and we all were fighting over the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I made this recipe perfectly according to instructions, and the tuna was alright...but the sauce, blech. My husband and I both disliked it's smell and taste...waaaaay too much vinegar. Maybe half the vinegar and the sauce might actually thicken up like it says it will in the recipe. Oh, and to properly enjoy the onions...you need a whole heck of a lot more than 1 large onion. Make it with two or three and your onion might actually last long enough for all four servings of the tuna. I don't think I will make this again...at least not for the sauce. Maybe with just the onions and tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Feast of the Seven Fishes has always been a big tradition in my family. Thank you for a great, easy recipe! I did add the sugar and vinegar together before putting in the pan just to make sure they were mixed; other than that did according to instruction. Loved it! Served with rice and asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
really great !but the fish better be fresh i mean just caught! this goes good with other fish too! i like more onions too iv even done it with white wine and a little balsamic for color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is wonderful! I'm only a novice cook and I was able to pull this off well. Very good!I make 2-3 onions though because like everyone has said, they are the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
GREAT....the preparation was very easy and results excellent! My husband is very picky and he really enjoyed this dinner. Paired it with roquefort pear salad and grilled asparagus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was reallllllllyyyy good! Even just the basic recipe it's good. I threw in a little bit of garlic and some marjoram into the mix and that made it extra flavorful. I would imagine that you add just about any herb and it would not spoil it. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
made this last night super easy and good may try it on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry L Coburn

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Completely authentic recipe for Sicilian style tuna steak. My grandmother made it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisewoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States