Sweet and Sour Seitan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This recipe tastes amazing! I am not sure why, my sweet-and-sour sauce was watery (I think I used too much pineapple juice). I had to add more corn starch and drain some of the liquid, even after I added the extra corn starch. I think it is really necessary to brown the seitan (or tofu, which is just as good to use with this recipe). If the seitan or tofu is a bit crispy, it will make all the difference for the better. Note to self: the whole can of pineapple chunks is not necessary for this recipe. Half the can would have sufficed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by car

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Cooked this tonight and it was really good! Super simple and fast to make and I had most of the ingredients already. Few tweaks I did: I only had a 10oz can of seitan tidbits (you can find at a Natural Foods store or asian market) so I added 6oz of baby bella mushrooms. Also, I had to add more brown sugar because it was too vinegary as stated in the recipe. I also added about a tsp more cornstarch to make thicker. I also added about 1/4 cup of ketchup to make it like they do in the takeout restaurants (why you usually see this recipe with a red sauce). Thank you for the recipe!!! Delicious with white rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
We loved this dish. We didn't have canned pineapples so we used mixed tropical fruits in a can. It was amazing over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karrie Anne Faison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Very yummy! I am putting this on the rotation! I think the brown sugar and what kind of vegetables are included really make the dish. Thank you for a yummy seitan recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was good. The sauce tasted great. I used a canned seitan which I didn't really care for but that doesn't reflect on the quality of the recipe. I also added extra vegetables. Yummy. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
My 4 year old gobbled this up! I swapped out the canned pineapple and juice for 2 cups fresh pineapple and used a cup of apple cider. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahandcammie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Wow! This was amazing. Made everything exactly as directed - except I used Morningstar chicken strips since I don't have a clue how to find seitan out here! We served it over rice - though next time I may try to add some more veggies. But this was definitely great, my non-vegetarian husband gave me the ok to make it again (which is rare!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This was the first time I had used seitan and only had an 8 oz package, so I added mushrooms, broccoli, baby carrots, and water chestnuts. I also served with a organic brown and wild rice mix, flavored with tamari sauce. My husband and 19 yr old son loved it (altho neither knew it was vegetarian instead of chicken!) I will definitely make regularly now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was the first time my husband and I have ever had seitan (wish I knew how to pronouce it). We really like the flavor of this sweet and sour souce. We added a lot more vegis than what the recipie indicated. Joel likes seitan - better than tofu, but not as well as chicken (of course). We will eat this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was really good, my boyfriend (who has been known to scoff at my attepmts to "vegetarianize" meals) ate two servings! The only complaint was that it was a little too sweet, so next time I may cut down on the brown sugar a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States